Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 60mb big problem

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

60mb big problem
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2012, 14:17   #1
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
60mb big problem

Hi guys

Need some help had the superhub installed yesterday by engineer who said 60mb would start working in 2hrs so when i returned back from work 10hrs later it was still on 20mb so called VM got through to india call centre spent 2hrs on the phone even gave remote access to my pc. even download TCP Optimize at end the guy gave up. my pc is wired
need your help

Wed, 02 May 2012 13:00:24 GMT

Test 1: 2048K took 835 ms = 2452.7 KB/sec, approx 19622 Kbps, 19.16 Mbps
Test 2: 2048K took 925 ms = 2214.1 KB/sec, approx 17713 Kbps, 17.3 Mbps
Test 3: 2048K took 704 ms = 2909.1 KB/sec, approx 23273 Kbps, 22.73 Mbps
Test 4: 4096K took 1615 ms = 2536.2 KB/sec, approx 20290 Kbps, 19.81 Mbps

Overall Average Speed = approx 20225 Kbps, 19.75 Mbps
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-05-2012, 14:25   #2
thenry
cf.mega poster
 
thenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 13,826
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: 60mb big problem

www.speedtester.bt.com
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 14:47   #3
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Re: 60mb big problem

does anyone know if my area has been upgraded or any links i check?
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 14:50   #4
Milambar
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 954
Milambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 60mb big problem

If they installed and ran TCP Optimizer, I hope your OS was not Vista or Windows 7.

Vista/Windows 7's TCP stack are auto-tuning, and the use of TCP Optimizer can actually be less than beneficial on those systems. Thats even indirectly mentioned in TCP Optimizers FAQ.
__________________
Algebra is great.

For a food-dish, of radius Z, and thickness A, you can say it is PI*Z*Z*A
Milambar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 15:10   #5
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Re: 60mb big problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenry View Post
Download speed 36.06
upload speed 1.51
Ping 82.88
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 15:14   #6
jempalmer
Guest
 
Location: West Sussex
Services: 500gb Tivo & V+. TV XL, 60MB BB, M Phone.
Posts: n/a
Re: 60mb big problem

This is not good

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1927872753.png
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 15:18   #7
thenry
cf.mega poster
 
thenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 13,826
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: 60mb big problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2old4this View Post
Download speed 36.06
upload speed 1.51
Ping 82.88
could you post your connection stats please.

192.168.100.1

advanced settings

connection

copy and paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by jempalmer View Post
you've got capacity issues
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 15:20   #8
jempalmer
Guest
 
Location: West Sussex
Services: 500gb Tivo & V+. TV XL, 60MB BB, M Phone.
Posts: n/a
Re: 60mb big problem

I've got issues full stop (so I'm told)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 15:43   #9
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Re: 60mb big problem

ok i been told my VM Tech in uk that my area has not been upgraded i have to wait till July
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 17:37   #10
Jinxey
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newport, South Wales
Services: Virgin Media 60Mb Broadband, Freeview HD, Freesat HD, iPhone 4s (Orange)
Posts: 55
Jinxey will become famous soon enoughJinxey will become famous soon enoughJinxey will become famous soon enough
Re: 60mb big problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2old4this View Post
ok i been told my VM Tech in uk that my area has not been upgraded i have to wait till July
That's rubbish... If you go for an early upgrade you get the speed regardless of if you area has been done. I went from 10 to 60 and my area is yet to be upgraded.
Jinxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 19:38   #11
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Re: 60mb big problem

just waiting if someone can confirm this info
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 19:42   #12
thenry
cf.mega poster
 
thenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 13,826
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: 60mb big problem

it depends on available capacity too. if theres a load issue then you'll struggle. set up a ping monitor
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 20:49   #13
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Re: 60mb big problem

is this speed ok for 30mb Thanks

Download speed 36.06
upload speed 1.87
Ping 128.44
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 20:50   #14
thenry
cf.mega poster
 
thenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 13,826
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: 60mb big problem

yes
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 20:53   #15
2old4this
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Wycombe
Age: 47
Posts: 240
2old4this has disabled reputation
Talking Re: 60mb big problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenry View Post
yes
thanks
2old4this is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:46.


Server: gallium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.