Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | is there no v+ boxes for new customers

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

is there no v+ boxes for new customers
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-04-2012, 08:26   #1
RobTi
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 46
RobTi is an unknown quantity at this point
is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Hi i was looking to sign up my parents and looking at the new bundles it looks like you only get a V HD box with no recording options unless you upgrade to a tivo.

Is this correct or am i reading it wrong

Thanks

Robert
RobTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-04-2012, 08:31   #2
Stephen
Four leaf clover
Cable Forum Team
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 35
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 11,358
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Yes TiVo is now the standard pvr box on VM.
__________________
X360 Gamertag: MartyMcFly88 PSN ID: martymcfly88
if a post is bold it's a moderating decision.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 08:31   #3
richard1960
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Essex
Age: 56
Services: vm broadband tvxl TiVo, v+ sky sports and phone.
Posts: 2,237
richard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze array
richard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze arrayrichard1960 has a bronze array
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

No VM stopped giving out V+ boxes to new customers a while ago,if you want a box that records TiVo is now the only option for new customers.
richard1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 08:33   #4
RobTi
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 46
RobTi is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Oh well don't think it will be virgin then, not paying an extra £5 just to record

Thanks for the replies

Robert
RobTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 08:40   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,770
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

On the new Collections, you don't pay an extra £5.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 09:03   #6
RobTi
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 46
RobTi is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Thanks for that not well laid out on the web page then.

Will go over it again

Robert
RobTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 11:14   #7
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, XL TV, 152Mb Broadband
Posts: 15,656
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobTi View Post
Oh well don't think it will be virgin then, not paying an extra £5 just to record

Thanks for the replies

Robert
Just to point out as well, the V+HD cost £5 a month on M+ and L, so with the Collections TiVo is likely cheaper than the V+HD was
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 12:53   #8
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NearBaton Rouge, Louisiana odd days in Cardiff South Wales
Age: 65
Services: TiVo ,Virgin XL. Phone Broadband. freeview(x 3 sets) COX tv ,Contour only need one for WHOLE house
Posts: 2,603
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Just to point out as well, the V+HD cost £5 a month on M+ and L, so with the Collections TiVo is likely cheaper than the V+HD was
The best reason I can think to have one - lower price
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 20:24   #9
DJSADERS
McNicholas Guildford
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Age: 25
Services: XL TV, 2 X 1TB Cisco TiVo, 152MB BB (SHUB3), XL Phone, Staff Discount
Posts: 259
DJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to DJSADERS
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

yep V+ was stopped back in February, we only carry them as replacements (and thats very very rare)
__________________
McNicholas - Virgin Media Install Tech - Guildford (Area Ref: 26)
ASK ME HOW TO SAVE 50 WHEN YOU JOIN VIRGIN MEDIA!
(All views are my own )
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5311285059
DJSADERS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 23:41   #10
RobTi
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 46
RobTi is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

So what happens when a v+hd is in a second room and breaks will it get replaced with a tivo free of charge

Robert
RobTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 23:55   #11
jempalmer
Guest
 
Location: West Sussex
Services: 500gb Tivo & V+. TV XL, 60MB BB, M Phone.
Posts: n/a
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

I wondered that too. Not long had Tivo installed and kept V+ for the bedroom. If it dies will I be stuck with a VHD box?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 06:41   #12
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4,884
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by jempalmer View Post
I wondered that too. Not long had Tivo installed and kept V+ for the bedroom. If it dies will I be stuck with a VHD box?
No a refurbished v+

---------- Post added at 06:41 ---------- Previous post was at 06:41 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobTi View Post
So what happens when a v+hd is in a second room and breaks will it get replaced with a tivo free of charge

Robert
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 11:24   #13
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,698
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Just to point out as well, the V+HD cost £5 a month on M+ and L, so with the Collections TiVo is likely cheaper than the V+HD was
That's true, before the Collections I was thinking of downgrading TV as the main reason I got a XL TV was to avoid the £5 charge, but the Tivo charge is levied regardless of TV package.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobTi View Post
So what happens when a v+hd is in a second room and breaks will it get replaced with a tivo free of charge

Robert
Quote:
Originally Posted by jempalmer View Post
I wondered that too. Not long had Tivo installed and kept V+ for the bedroom. If it dies will I be stuck with a VHD box?
I wondered that too. I suspect that, as V+ will slowly be made redundant, they will eventually drop Tivo software onto the V Boxes and switch off the V+. As most will be the free 2nd box by this time, VM will argue that customers had been getting it for nothing anyway if/when they complain. Perhaps by then they will sweeten it with offers for 2nd Tivo boxes?.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 12:44   #14
nstokes
God Of The Heavens
 
nstokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sheffield
Age: 29
Services: Sky+HD (2TB) with Sky World, BT Sport and ESPN, Sky 3D, Sky+HD Multiroom, Sky Talk Freetime, Sky Fib
Posts: 4,090
nstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronze
nstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronzenstokes is cast in bronze
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

VM believe Tivo are the future thats why no V+ Boxes
nstokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 13:17   #15
passingbat
Streaming is for 'now'
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Services: Virgin XL BB, XL Phone, M+ TV, Tivo.
Posts: 4,020
passingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze array
passingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze arraypassingbat has a bronze array
Re: is there no v+ boxes for new customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by nstokes View Post
VM believe Tivo are the future thats why no V+ Boxes
Once the V+ boxes are gone, VM can move to Mpeg4, which will give us more recording capacity and be beneficial for network capacity. They can also move all remaining boxes onto Tivo software, elimiting the need for two different software systems. So you can see why VM have good reasons to do this.

There is a valid argument though, that VM should have kept the V+ as an option until the V+ missing features (full red button and Reminders) were available on tivo. Those missing features don't bother me, but they do others.
passingbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:16.


Server: lithium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.