Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What can I do with an old v6 box

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

What can I do with an old v6 box
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-11-2017, 17:14   #1
biohead
cf.member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bracknell
Services: Business 350
Posts: 8
biohead is an unknown quantity at this point
What can I do with an old v6 box

Please hear me out on this one rather than just say "It's property of VM, must be returned". It's a case of I might regret getting rid of TV rather quickly, plus I've already paid the initial V6 "install" fee.

I'm currently on the Full House 200Mb package for 35 - which is coming to an end shortly. My initial phone call to retentions didn't even come close to what I'm currently paying so I'm looking at either going with Sky as a new customer or drop my package with VM to bband only.

Obviously if I go to Sky, the account is closed and that is that.

I know the hardware is supposed to be returned, but if I stick with VM and just drop to bband (as the FTTC cabinet is only just being installed so may be another few months) does that mean if I hang onto the V6 it could be reactivated against the same account later if I relent and add a TV package again? I'm probably talking a timeline of a week or two, rather that months just so I'm clear.

(If anyone works for VM and can offer better retention packages I'm open to it!)
biohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 15-11-2017, 17:27   #2
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 and TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 16,224
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

If you disconnect your TV, you will be asked for the box back.

If you don't return the box when asked, you will be charged for it.

Remember that all disconnections require 30 days notice, so if you want to test the waters of another TV provider there is an automatic window in which you can do it, and change your mind if you wish.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2017, 19:47   #3
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,302
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

Quote:
Originally Posted by biohead View Post
I'm probably talking a timeline of a week or two, rather that months just so I'm clear.
If they chase you for it at all, its not going to be within a week or two, more likely months.
My experience and that of other people I know suggests they more than likely wont bother.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2017, 19:57   #4
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,498
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

Yes, by the time (if) they get round to asking for it back those couple of weeks will have passed anyway.

If they don't ask for it back I'd hold onto it as some people (me included) were told that they didn't want their equipment back and it turned out that they did later on.

I once received a text message abruptly saying 'We haven't received our kit back yet, so we are now passing your account to our recovery team'.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2017, 20:00   #5
biohead
cf.member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bracknell
Services: Business 350
Posts: 8
biohead is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

Yeah - I'm not trying to get out of not returning it's more a question of could a box be reactivated against the same account?

I know 2nd hand boxes are useless - but as this would've been tied to the same account it was more a question of could it actually be reused?
biohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2017, 19:52   #6
Raider999
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 261
Raider999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

Quote:
Originally Posted by biohead View Post
Yeah - I'm not trying to get out of not returning it's more a question of could a box be reactivated against the same account?

I know 2nd hand boxes are useless - but as this would've been tied to the same account it was more a question of could it actually be reused?
When I moved from sky to virgin, I retained my sky sub for an extra month - this gave me a chance to watch recordings that I wanted on the sky boxes whilst recording new things on both (enabling me to test out the reliability of the V6 boxes).
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2017, 20:24   #7
blackthorn
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: north west
Posts: 815
blackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation erablackthorn has entered a golden reputation era
Re: What can I do with an old v6 box

I ended my tv package 6 weeks ago to move to sky and I kept virgin broadband. 2 days after the tv went off I received a box through the post to return it.
blackthorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.