Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2015, 16:53   #4951
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
There's no clue in the levels other than the T3/T4 count. The network log shows the T4 that I would have expected from that graph which also shows noise (the red bit = packet loss usually caused by noise).
If the timezone is wrong then that'd match up. If the timezones are correct on the graph and the router log then they don't.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 08-04-2015, 18:22   #4952
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,374
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon22 View Post
Seems as though the upstream power is maxed out.

US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 N/A N/A 2.0
Channel ID 51 N/A N/A 49
Frequency (Hz) 32600000 N/A N/A 46200000
Ranging Status Success N/A N/A Success
Modulation 16QAM N/A N/A 16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 N/A N/A 5120000
Mini-Slot Size 4 N/A N/A 4
Power Level (dBmV) 54.50 N/A N/A 55.21
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 2 0 0 0
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
When I had power levels like that on QAM16 the packet loss was simply appalling and my internet was useless. You need a tech out to look into it.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 21:47   #4953
st3v3y
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
st3v3y is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

So almost 24 hours on this is how it is looking.

Basically, less yellow.

st3v3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 21:51   #4954
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,309
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

....that's not a good thing
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 21:58   #4955
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Have you posted on the VM Forum where they have support staff of near 2nd line calibre who reply (after two or three days)?
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 22:11   #4956
st3v3y
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
st3v3y is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

VM is my next stop once I have gained a better understanding of what I'm looking at.

The connection lacks any consistency for every day use. Speeds are all over the place and seem to regularly drop out.
st3v3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 22:41   #4957
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Basically your system can't work because of the noise on your line as indicated by the red on the TBB Graph.

The noise means that the VM end cannot read what is sent by the modem, including keep-alives and data. So after a certain number of T3 events, it resets and the connection drops.

When you post this stuff on the VM forums, you'll get the same diagnosis from the Superusers there and after a couple of days (keep posting the stats/graphs) the VM bods will come on and agree with what we're saying here and what we will say there!

They'll arrange an engineer.

If you don't want to wait the two or three days, call it in during office hours and, if it were me, I'd put the phone down on offshore and try again until I get a UK agent.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 22:54   #4958
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,975
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Your Superhub looks knackered.

Or your upstream path is very broken and is constantly transitioning on power which is upsetting the Superhub.

SNR per se isn't going to be the issue - that comes with packet loss but not the ridiculously high pings you have.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 00:13   #4959
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 257
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
When I had power levels like that on QAM16 the packet loss was simply appalling and my internet was useless. You need a tech out to look into it.
Yep, think I might have to. Thought it might of dropped since the packet loss stopped but it's still sitting at 54-55 dBmV.
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:25   #4960
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
Basically your system can't work because of the noise on your line as indicated by the red on the TBB Graph.

The noise means that the VM end cannot read what is sent by the modem, including keep-alives and data. So after a certain number of T3 events, it resets and the connection drops.
I don't see anything that definitively indicates any abnormal noise. His power readings indicate very low noise on his line.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 17:16   #4961
st3v3y
Inactive
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
st3v3y is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Well I've posted over at VM so let's hope there is a quick fix. Thanks for the help guys.
st3v3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 20:35   #4962
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,975
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
I don't see anything that definitively indicates any abnormal noise. His power readings indicate very low noise on his line.
The issue, if any, of noise lies on the upstream where the only CNR/SNR/MER figures are at the CMTS.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2015, 18:29   #4963
GazCBG
cf.mega poster
 
GazCBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln
Age: 41
Services: 200Mb (Superhub v3) | TV: 2x TiVo on XL | Phone
Posts: 1,003
GazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the rough
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Anyone getting packet lost?
I am in Lincoln LN6

__________________
Intel Core i5-7500 // Gigabyte GA-B250-HD3P // EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW // 16GB HyperX (2x8GB) 2400MHz DDR4 // 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD // 3x 2TB Toshiba P300
GazCBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2015, 19:38   #4964
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,413
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I am having tea atm dude but i'll check it when i go back upstairs

---------- Post added at 19:38 ---------- Previous post was at 18:39 ----------

I have never bothered with a TBB monitor before because I never have any problems with my connection but I have just set one up for you and I'll report back later.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2015, 19:44   #4965
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You'll be worried for ever more each time you see something odd!
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:15.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.