Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New Build Woes

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

New Build Woes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2017, 08:01   #16
duncan.stevenson
cf.member
 
duncan.stevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kinnaird, Falkirk
Age: 29
Services: Terrible ADSL
Posts: 25
duncan.stevenson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

Good morning Steve, just wondering if there'd be any progress made in the last week?

Is there an approximate timescale available yet?

Hope you had a good weekend
duncan.stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-04-2017, 09:33   #17
weesteev
Cable Guru
Ants Champion
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The North
Age: 34
Services: BT YouView DTR4000, Plusnet Fibre 79/20, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 907
weesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of society
Re: New Build Woes

Have been off for the past week Duncan, will get an update for you this week.
__________________


New Build Officer @ Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of Virgin Media.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2017, 09:40   #18
duncan.stevenson
cf.member
 
duncan.stevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kinnaird, Falkirk
Age: 29
Services: Terrible ADSL
Posts: 25
duncan.stevenson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
Have been off for the past week Duncan, will get an update for you this week.
Oh, sorry to hassle you. Hope you had a lovely week off!
duncan.stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2017, 16:38   #19
MonkeyMagic
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
MonkeyMagic is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

Hi, I am moving into this estate as well in the next couple of weeks and I'm terrified I won't get a decent broadband speed! My kids will be a nightmare!!! :-)
Will keep an eye on this forum!
MonkeyMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 08:13   #20
duncan.stevenson
cf.member
 
duncan.stevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kinnaird, Falkirk
Age: 29
Services: Terrible ADSL
Posts: 25
duncan.stevenson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyMagic View Post
Hi, I am moving into this estate as well in the next couple of weeks and I'm terrified I won't get a decent broadband speed! My kids will be a nightmare!!! :-)
Will keep an eye on this forum!
Broadband speeds here are atrocious on ADSL. We currently get about 2Mb/s. Our neighbours are also struggling as things like Netflix just don't work well at all.

We use Sonos all over our home which plays music from streaming services. If we're playing music and some device starts backing up or updating itself (as is common these days) the music stops. It's truly unbearable.

I'll drop you a PM, it'd be good to get to know some folk in the neighbourhood!
duncan.stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 14:08   #21
duncan.stevenson
cf.member
 
duncan.stevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kinnaird, Falkirk
Age: 29
Services: Terrible ADSL
Posts: 25
duncan.stevenson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

I just saw a couple guys install a large new cabinet next to a smaller existing cabinet on Jardine Avenue. I had a brief chat with them and they confirmed it was a VM cabinet going in, and that power was also going in today (though I thought that had been done - who knows!) but they weren't sure whether there was any fibre here yet.

The seemed to think that it wouldn't be long now. I can only hope!
duncan.stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 21:03   #22
weesteev
Cable Guru
Ants Champion
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The North
Age: 34
Services: BT YouView DTR4000, Plusnet Fibre 79/20, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 907
weesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of society
Re: New Build Woes

They were our contractors installing the MSAN (Telco) cabinet, the power feed is in to the smaller cabinet already, it is then cross connected to the larger cabinet. The fibre isn't in yet, there are issues off site that prevent us from pulling the cable in to activate the cabinets but it is in progress

Will keep you posted.
__________________


New Build Officer @ Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of Virgin Media.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 21:11   #23
duncan.stevenson
cf.member
 
duncan.stevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kinnaird, Falkirk
Age: 29
Services: Terrible ADSL
Posts: 25
duncan.stevenson is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New Build Woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
They were our contractors installing the MSAN (Telco) cabinet, the power feed is in to the smaller cabinet already, it is then cross connected to the larger cabinet. The fibre isn't in yet, there are issues off site that prevent us from pulling the cable in to activate the cabinets but it is in progress

Will keep you posted.
Thanks for the update! Hopefully the issues aren't too severe and don't delay things too much! 🤞🏼
duncan.stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:04.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Release Candidate 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.