Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2017, 05:52   #1
MacmillaN
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth,UK
Services: TIVO 500GB-V+ HD, TV Size XL +SKYSPORTS/MOVIES VIVID Phone Size M
Posts: 168
MacmillaN is an unknown quantity at this point
Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Reason i ask is because within my Network Log i am currently seeing:-

SW Download INIT - Via Config file tftp file-********
SW download Successful - Via Config file

Thoughts?
MacmillaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-01-2017, 08:49   #2
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 412
Synthetic is a jewel in the roughSynthetic is a jewel in the roughSynthetic is a jewel in the roughSynthetic is a jewel in the roughSynthetic is a jewel in the rough
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Have your sync speeds changed in the configuration tab?
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 10:57   #3
gothicdraconian
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
gothicdraconian is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacmillaN View Post
Reason i ask is because within my Network Log i am currently seeing:-

SW Download INIT - Via Config file tftp file-********
SW download Successful - Via Config file

Thoughts?
This same update happened to me this morning. Chances are that your SH2ac was running v1.01.11 (i thought this was the latest version) before. Now it is likely running v2.01.11.

If your SH2ac software version begins with v2 rather than v1, it likely means you are opted in to the WIFI hotspot sharing thing. I'll most likely be logging in to my Virgin Media portal to opt out of it.

Last edited by gothicdraconian; 10-01-2017 at 11:02.
gothicdraconian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 11:40   #4
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 60
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,099
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

I had it too, after the usual flurry of T3 errors.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 14:14   #5
MacmillaN
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth,UK
Services: TIVO 500GB-V+ HD, TV Size XL +SKYSPORTS/MOVIES VIVID Phone Size M
Posts: 168
MacmillaN is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

I am now running v2.01.11

So i am guessing that was the only change in the firmware - regarding enabling WIFI HOTSPOT?
MacmillaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 16:02   #6
dgcarter
Grey bearded teenager.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradford
Services: 60mbps Broadband only since I got rid of the overpriced phone line and the pointless TV
Posts: 99
dgcarter doesn't have many friendsdgcarter doesn't have many friendsdgcarter doesn't have many friends
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

I can't find anything about either opting in or out on the VM website, could someone direct me to it?
dgcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 17:29   #7
Wallace
cf.addict
 
Wallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Manchester
Services: VM 200M
Posts: 141
Wallace is on a distinguished roadWallace is on a distinguished road
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

My 2ac as this entry in the log, 'Code File Manufacturer CVS Validation Failure'. So I guess the SW update failed as it still shows as v1.01.11
__________________
VM Cable BB XL 200M (SuperHub 2ac in MODEM mode)
ASUS RT-AC88U
AirPort Express - Used for AirPlay Only
QNAP TVS-471 NAS (4x3TB WD REDS)
Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 20:20   #8
MacmillaN
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth,UK
Services: TIVO 500GB-V+ HD, TV Size XL +SKYSPORTS/MOVIES VIVID Phone Size M
Posts: 168
MacmillaN is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Ah ok I understand now, just seems abit random that VM has not mentioned the roll-out plan and the way to actually opt-out yet!

Although I was aware they was planning to-do this a year ago now, but actually thought it had already gone live, but makes more sense doing it area by area slowly.

In principle it does seem like a really good idea, asking as it does not affect a users actual connection.

So basically they expect everyone to opt-in... right away without a prompt screen first.
MacmillaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 20:39   #9
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 60
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,099
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

I wonder how they will react when I power down my modem at night or when I go out?
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:09.


Server: niobium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Release Candidate 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.