Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2017, 12:42   #91
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,536
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Upstream
Channel Type 2.0 2.0 N/A N/A
Channel ID 34 35 N/A N/A
Frequency (Hz) 39400000 32600000 N/A N/A
Modulation 64QAM 32QAM N/A N/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 5120000 N/A N/A
Mini-Slot Size 4 4 N/A N/A
Power Level (dBmV) 44.25 43.75 N/A N/A

US2 on 32qam today....
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 01-09-2017, 16:41   #92
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,978
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
Igni

It seems that there has been widespread change to the mini-slot size. My Hub 3, SH2ac & SH2 all have a mini-slot size of 2 instead of the 4.

So what's that about? It could explain the packet fragmentation that Will has mentioned.
I have no idea what the access guys are doing with the upstream configurations to be honest, but it wouldn't explain the fragmentation - Will's issue was with received packets, not transmitted ones.

I would suspect new line cards or IOS and a recommendation from Cisco to change the size, or someone decided to try and wring a little more efficiency from each MAP by reducing the minimum burst.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 18:00   #93
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
I have no idea what the access guys are doing with the upstream configurations to be honest, but it wouldn't explain the fragmentation - Will's issue was with received packets, not transmitted ones.

I would suspect new line cards or IOS and a recommendation from Cisco to change the size, or someone decided to try and wring a little more efficiency from each MAP by reducing the minimum burst.
It seems to be widespread? Is it likely to have been deliberate? And exactly what will it do to people's experience?

With your insight, can you please explain more what this means. I'm aware of the basic mechanism of ticks & opportunities. But reducing that to 2 ticks if the other levers stay the same eludes me as to reason.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 20:13   #94
William morgan
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
William morgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Still having issues after this update on ps4
William morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 21:20   #95
Wallace
cf.addict
 
Wallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Manchester
Services: VM 200M
Posts: 143
Wallace is on a distinguished roadWallace is on a distinguished road
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

So glad my 2ac is still on v1.01.14.
__________________
VM Cable BB XL 200M (SuperHub 2ac in MODEM mode)
ASUS RT-AC88U
AirPort Express
QNAP TVS-471 NAS (4x3TB WD REDS)
Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 22:15   #96
William morgan
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
William morgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

If your 2ac is in modem mode your ok im using mine as a router and since this update my wired upload speed on ps4 is 2mb which was 10 before seems to be having wired comnection issues to ps4. How are you still on old firmware have you not reset your router recently? Or its not released where you are yet?
William morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 22:25   #97
Wallace
cf.addict
 
Wallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Manchester
Services: VM 200M
Posts: 143
Wallace is on a distinguished roadWallace is on a distinguished road
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

I have no idea why I am still on 'old' FW. When I first read this thread, I checked my version and did a complete power cycle of the SH. The original FW version remains. I rebooted again just a couple of days ago and I am still on 1.01.14.
For now, I am not touching it again. Yes, I am in MODEM mode, but don't want to chance problems now I know that some people are having issues.
__________________
VM Cable BB XL 200M (SuperHub 2ac in MODEM mode)
ASUS RT-AC88U
AirPort Express
QNAP TVS-471 NAS (4x3TB WD REDS)
Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 23:06   #98
William morgan
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
William morgan is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Imo stay on the old firmware tried ringing virgin today they said it was sony the usual stuff they dont have a clue whats going on like i told them i was awake when this update installed and its only occured since it installed its virgin not sony. Typical phone support wish i could talk to someone at there center who actually knew i.t.
William morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 13:42   #99
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,978
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
It seems to be widespread? Is it likely to have been deliberate? And exactly what will it do to people's experience?

With your insight, can you please explain more what this means. I'm aware of the basic mechanism of ticks & opportunities. But reducing that to 2 ticks if the other levers stay the same eludes me as to reason.
Changing to 2 ticks reduces the size of the minimum data grant, so if a modem only has 2 ticks worth of data it's getting exactly that grant rather than 4.

Whatever the reason I'm not privvy.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 14:15   #100
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Has a new SW file been sent to Hub2 ac users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
Changing to 2 ticks reduces the size of the minimum data grant, so if a modem only has 2 ticks worth of data it's getting exactly that grant rather than 4.

Whatever the reason I'm not privvy.
So, in identical upstream load circumstances as to when it was 4 ticks, your opportunity to send data comes round more often at the expense of the amount of data grabbed at the next opportunity. Right?
Now, would the less technical user find that a more useful explanation?!!
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:48.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.