Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VIP now with Vivid 300

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

VIP now with Vivid 300
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-08-2017, 12:02   #46
Broken Hope
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 146
Broken Hope has disabled reputation
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

I wouldn't mind my 200Mb connection having 20Mb upload.
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 16-08-2017, 15:13   #47
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 20,898
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Mine does
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:29   #48
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 140
Mythica is on a distinguished roadMythica is on a distinguished road
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Tried on web chat to upgrade 200Mb to 300Mb on my VIP package but it isn't available in the area yet though the online postcode checker says it isn't, the street around the corner can? The person was saying I would get notified in My Virgin Media when it becomes available but I'm not sure it will? Is there anyway to find when 300Mb will become available? I'm sure the postcode checker stated a few weeks back that 300Mb was available but it now says 200Mb. I've been on 24 downstream channels for months now.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:51   #49
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,271
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
I hate to disappoint
Hardly disappointing:

Quote:
There are no plans to get all tiers onto 10:1 ratios, but some of them it's certainly doable.
Given the majority of customers are on the lower tiers, I wouldn't be surprised if Virgin kept them at a lower ratio - they do ultimately use the most bandwidth. Makes sense to put the highest tiers on 10:1, another incentive to upgrade now that we're hitting a bit of a "Good enough for me" threshold on Download speeds.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:08   #50
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,286
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

well spotted, I hope they do do it because the last time I was on 10:1 was when I was on 100/10 and I only got that because I was one of the very first people to sign up. I think it only took them two months to change it to 100/5 for any new subscribers/tier changes. 350 is obviously staying at 350/20 and a 400mbit tier would be a bit of a waste of time in terms of speed increase.

What would be amazing and a big WOW next year is if when they start playing around with docsis3.1 they not only bring out a 500mbits tier but make it 10:1 at 500/50. That would definitely kick ass.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:30   #51
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,271
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

I think Igni said elsewhere that DC3.1 is going to be downstream only at first, so I imagine large upload speed increases are still a ways off. Then again 50Mbit upload is hardly a leap from 30Mbit.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:07   #52
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,286
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Then again 50Mbit upload is hardly a leap from 30Mbit.
We haven't got 30mbit upload either though. It will be 20 going up to 50 which would be a nice increase if it were to happen.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:13   #53
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Services: Pulse8 52/19 business VDSL, SD-WAN, phone line. Freeview TV. Lots of streaming services.
Posts: 13,703
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
What would be amazing and a big WOW next year is if when they start playing around with docsis3.1 they not only bring out a 500mbits tier but make it 10:1 at 500/50. That would definitely kick ass.
500/50 is doable on 3.0.

https://www.comhem.se/bredband/bredband-500
Ignitionnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:28   #54
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,286
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
500/50 is doable on 3.0
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:50   #55
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Services: Pulse8 52/19 business VDSL, SD-WAN, phone line. Freeview TV. Lots of streaming services.
Posts: 13,703
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Ignitionnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:18   #56
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 20,898
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Id be happy to see 300/30 or 350/35 at the moment, its probably the only thing that will tempt me off my current 200/20.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:25   #57
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,286
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

it would be nice but it's not going to happen though, at least not on the current tiers and I can't see them doing a "gamer 300" with 300/30. We need a new 400mbit tier at the very least and they can start a new gimmick and called it something like Lightning 400.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:32   #58
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,271
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

I dunno, I think the faster speeds are starting to lose their allure. With every price rise there's plenty of people saying they've dropped a tier because it's good enough.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:50   #59
SimonB79
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 79
SimonB79 is on a distinguished roadSimonB79 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
I dunno, I think the faster speeds are starting to lose their allure. With every price rise there's plenty of people saying they've dropped a tier because it's good enough.
🤔 realistically you don't need anything over 200mbps ... I'm on 300 purely for the upload! 😇
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:58   #60
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Services: Pulse8 52/19 business VDSL, SD-WAN, phone line. Freeview TV. Lots of streaming services.
Posts: 13,703
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

I wouldn't hold your breath for anything faster on the residential side for a while.
Ignitionnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:06.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.