Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-02-2017, 08:43   #1
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,156
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

I went to view a new build property last night and was pleasantly surprised to see it had been cabled for Virgin Media.

What I didn't expect (And was an even more pleasant surprise) was that the bedrooms and living room all had Ethernet sockets in them, with a Virgin Media logo on a (otherwise empty) plate next to them.

Am I right in thinking this is possibly FTTP?

(Sorry, I didn't think to take pictures at the time).

Now, to my understanding, Virgin uses RFoG so the end point equipment is the same - same Superhub, same TiVo box - somewhere the fibre gets converted into a coaxial output. What I'm having trouble grasping is how this works with Ethernet sockets?

I couldn't spot an omnibox anywhere. There might have been a coaxial wall plate in the Living room but I didn't get a good look, nor could I find any kind of patch panel for the Ethernet sockets (I didn't get to look in all of the cupboards, though).

I'm guessing this is fairly standard for new builds, but I can't find any information on it - what should I expect? A Cupboard somewhere with a bunch of coax dangling and a patch panel? Or is there like a shed somewhere in the street passing straight up Ethernet to the houses? (I'm not sure how I'd feel about that and I don't see how that would work with TiVo).

Anyone got anything like this?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 16-02-2017, 08:49   #2
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 50
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Yes I'd imagine there will be a point somewhere in the house with a patch panel. Interesting though! I wonder how the Tivo is supposed to connect?
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2017, 08:57   #3
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,156
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Yes I'd imagine there will be a point somewhere in the house with a patch panel. Interesting though! I wonder how the Tivo is supposed to connect?
This is what I'm wondering! I'm guessing there was a coax point that I just didn't see, but I really don't know.

The plot I viewed was the show home, the plot I've reserved isn't going to be ready for a while but when it is I'll take pictures.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2017, 09:15   #4
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 50
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Perhaps they wire up ethernet in advance as part of the deal but do the coax like a normal install, or perhaps they do all the TV over IP? Certainly they should have the bandwidth if it's a fibre connection externally, I think Sky do similar on some new builds to deliver without dishes.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2017, 16:58   #5
DJSADERS
Ex - McNicholas Guildford
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Age: 26
Services: XL TV, 2 X 1TB Cisco TiVo, 152MB BB (SHUB3), XL Phone
Posts: 279
DJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to DJSADERS
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

From my experience with new builds there usually is either 2 setups...

If it is a house under the stairs there is a double blanking plate with all the wires behind if it's a flat usually this is in the airing cupboard.

The coax will come from the distribution cabinet normally in the basement or cupboard in one of the communal hallways if a flat or straight to the street cabinet if a house
__________________
Ex - McNicholas - Virgin Media Install Tech - Guildford (Area Ref: 26)
(All views are my own )
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5311285059
DJSADERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 09:54   #6
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,156
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJSADERS View Post
From my experience with new builds there usually is either 2 setups...

If it is a house under the stairs there is a double blanking plate with all the wires behind if it's a flat usually this is in the airing cupboard.

The coax will come from the distribution cabinet normally in the basement or cupboard in one of the communal hallways if a flat or straight to the street cabinet if a house
It's a house and I did look under the stairs, but there wasn't anything there. There is a second cupboard upstairs though, which I didn't look in - could be there.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 12:28   #7
weesteev
Cable Guru
Ants Champion
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The North
Age: 34
Services: BT YouView DTR4000, Plusnet Fibre 79/20, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 907
weesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of society
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

We don't wire Ethernet. The branded sockets you would have seen are either just a blanking plate or an angled F connector in a Euro Module panel. We only fit RG6 coaxial cable in New Build properties. We do recommend that developers fit Ethernet but that's at their own cost and expertise.

Regardless of whether its an FTTP or HFC build, the internal wiring is still coaxial.

HTH
__________________


New Build Officer @ Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of Virgin Media.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 13:43   #8
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 15,968
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

And handily, you can see that on this site here

http://www.virginmedia.com/lightning...rty-developers

There is a PDF which details exactly how Virgin Media recommend installation in a new build
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 14:13   #9
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 495
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Shame no one took any notice of that when they were doing my building haha!
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 14:42   #10
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,156
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
And handily, you can see that on this site here

http://www.virginmedia.com/lightning...rty-developers

There is a PDF which details exactly how Virgin Media recommend installation in a new build
I found this before, but it may as well have been greek to me! Haha.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
We don't wire Ethernet. The branded sockets you would have seen are either just a blanking plate or an angled F connector in a Euro Module panel. We only fit RG6 coaxial cable in New Build properties. We do recommend that developers fit Ethernet but that's at their own cost and expertise.

Regardless of whether its an FTTP or HFC build, the internal wiring is still coaxial.

HTH
Okay, that does make sense! I'll get another look at the place in a couple of weeks, I'll be sure to take pictures this time for those that are curious. I'm hoping it's FTTP, for future proofing.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 15:25   #11
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 972
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

If its the show home then it's likely got every option under the sun. When you come to buy then you'll likely find ethernet is just another added option, most offer it these days. Some for an extortionate amount considering what it actually costs to put in during the build.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 15:27   #12
vm_tech
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 238
vm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of light
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

The document that Ben linked shows a VM master socket module, maybe it's that you saw?
vm_tech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 17:18   #13
weesteev
Cable Guru
Ants Champion
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The North
Age: 34
Services: BT YouView DTR4000, Plusnet Fibre 79/20, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 907
weesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of societyweesteev is a pillar of society
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
I found this before, but it may as well have been greek to me! Haha.



Okay, that does make sense! I'll get another look at the place in a couple of weeks, I'll be sure to take pictures this time for those that are curious. I'm hoping it's FTTP, for future proofing.

Its not FTTP

Also I made that developers guide
__________________


New Build Officer @ Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of Virgin Media.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2017, 22:56   #14
Onramp
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 61
Onramp is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
Also I made that developers guide
Heh, I was going to say that but wasn't sure whether you would want people to know or not
Onramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2017, 10:29   #15
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,156
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New build with Virgin Media branded ethernet sockets - what to expect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
Its not FTTP

Also I made that developers guide
Oh cool, guess that's about as authoritative as you can get!
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:46.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Release Candidate 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.