Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | UHD on Virgin Media

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

UHD on Virgin Media
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-02-2017, 10:10   #1
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 4,265
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
UHD on Virgin Media

Since setting up my 2 V6s and supplementing them with my HDD recorder so that all my recordings are now in HD (where available), I have been pondering about what to do with future programmes broadcast in UHD, given that recording such programmes will be so hungry for space that it would be impractical to do so. I will not go back to watching live broadcast TV because I want to watch my selected content at times that are convenient to me, and without having to sit through advertisements.

I was beginning to think that the recording issue would be avoided by all UHD material on Virgin Media being made available on demand only, but I notice that Vodaphone in Spain have launched a UHD service which will allow you to watch programmes aired on UHD broadcast channels through the cloud.

This seems to me the most likely method that will be adopted by Virgin Media, although given their current philosophy, they could well decide to go down the on demand route only.

Does anyone have any information regarding the route that Virgin will take, and what would you prefer VM to do to being UHD to our screens other than by way of Netflix, You Tube and (hopefully) Amazon?

http://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2017/...odafone-spain/
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 23-02-2017, 15:54   #2
pythagoras
cf.addict
 
pythagoras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wigan
Age: 55
Posts: 469
pythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of society
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

A 4k uhd Movie roughly takes up 17GB of storage on my sky q silver so it is feasible with 2TB or greater storage.
pythagoras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2017, 19:10   #3
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 4,265
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

While this is indeed feasible, it would nevertheless restrict how much I want to record, so personally, I hope we have a cloud recording ability before long. I just hope that this won't be coming with a small time window in which to view it, or that will be similarly pretty useless as far as I am concerned.
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 19:02   #4
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,587
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by pythagoras View Post
A 4k uhd Movie roughly takes up 17GB of storage on my sky q silver so it is feasible with 2TB or greater storage.
The weekly episode of Lucky Man Series 2 in UHD (45 mins) comes in at around 6GB so as you say not to bad on a 2TB drive or greater. It's also pretty good PQ.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 17:24   #5
dodgem22
dodgem
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: staffordshire
Services: virgin tv phone and broadband giff gaff mobile
Posts: 220
dodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about themdodgem22 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

I have a suspicion that the V6 may have a cloud recording function that has not been activated yet.
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 14:39   #6
Travelstar
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 42
Travelstar is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

I'm guessing the V6 rollout allowed both H264 and possibly H265 to be introduced. I could be wrong, but the V6 boxes may use multicast IP streams rather than DVB-C. Anyone know if this is the case?
Travelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 14:46   #7
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,587
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgem22 View Post
I have a suspicion that the V6 may have a cloud recording function that has not been activated yet.
Any basic IP device is capable of accessing the Cloud , Netflix and Amazon are already cloud based services.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 18:24   #8
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,020
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelstar View Post
I'm guessing the V6 rollout allowed both H264 and possibly H265 to be introduced.
VM can only use encodings that are compatible with all boxes that are in the field, except where services can be controlled by box type. For example, Sky Movies HD On Demand is H.264, but is only made available on TiVo boxes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelstar View Post
I could be wrong, but the V6 boxes may use multicast IP streams rather than DVB-C. Anyone know if this is the case?
DVB-C is already present on the network, so the V6 boxes may as well use it. It would be unnecessary duplication to also carry content with multicast IP.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 18:58   #9
Travelstar
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 42
Travelstar is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: UHD on Virgin Media

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
VM can only use encodings that are compatible with all boxes that are in the field, except where services can be controlled by box type. For example, Sky Movies HD On Demand is H.264, but is only made available on TiVo boxes.


DVB-C is already present on the network, so the V6 boxes may as well use it. It would be unnecessary duplication to also carry content with multicast IP.
Agree. Just realised I had misunderstood the install of the new box as I had assumed (wrongly) it was all over Ethernet. That's a bit of a shame as this could be been a good time to go full IP and start looking to free up spectrum (not that it is in short supply). Also could have made installs more flexible.
Travelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:53.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.