Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-11-2017, 17:59   #1
brighton dude
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
brighton dude is an unknown quantity at this point
Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms

I am not knowledgeable about how cable functions in practice very much as you can probably tell from my question.

Currently I have Virgin cable supply to my house which I use for Internet access and my terrestrial phone. For the Internet access there is Virgin's router and for the phone there is a white box with phone outlet beside the white box for the cable supply.

This has worked well for my requirements for years, but now I am renovating my house and I'm planning on a TV in my living room, a TV in my home theatre room, my computer in study.

The floors are being taken up in my house and so it is a good time to put in cables to different rooms, but what cables should I use? How would I connect these TVs and the computer to where the virgin cable comes into the house? I realise that for the TVs I'll need to use that Virgin media box of course.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide.
brighton dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-11-2017, 21:18   #2
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,603
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms

I used an ethernet wiring kit from B&Q to wire up the whole house for internet. The instructions are clear enough for an amateur. It came with loads of cable, wall mounting boxes, plugs and a mounting tool.

I can't find it on their site at the moment though.

---------- Post added at 20:18 ---------- Previous post was at 20:14 ----------

Another option is to use the home mains wiring using the powerline system.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 13:37   #3
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: FHTV, Sports & Movies (2x V6), TA Telco, VIVID 350. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile
Posts: 1,510
nodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these parts
Re: Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms

You don't say if you intend to subscribe to Virgins TV service. If you do the V6 boxes use both the internet & also require connection to VM coaxial network. This uses specialised coax & connectors. You can either install pull wires so that VM can install their own cabling. If you want to use your own then Webro HD100 is the only standard close to what VM use.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 19:42   #4
DJSADERS
Ex - McNicholas Guildford
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Age: 26
Services: XL TV, 2 X 1TB Cisco TiVo, 152MB BB (SHUB3), XL Phone
Posts: 307
DJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to DJSADERS
Re: Supplying TV and Internet to different rooms

Or you could just call VM and ask for a survey as your renovating... and ask the engineer for a ton of cable
__________________
Ex - McNicholas - Virgin Media Install Tech - Guildford (Area Ref: 26)
(All views are my own )
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5311285059
DJSADERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:04.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.