Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virginmedia.com down?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Virginmedia.com down?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-11-2017, 21:13   #16
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,584
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

well that doesn't help at all. You are using a vpn/remote machine to run that trace because the half of that trace is in Germany and it only comes over to England on the 9th hop.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-11-2017, 21:14   #17
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
well that doesn't help at all. You are using a vpn/remote machine to run that trace because the half of that trace is in Germany and it only comes over to England on the 9th hop.
I just found the link by typing it in google what site did you do your test on?
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 21:23   #18
Martin_D
cf.geek
 
Martin_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 771
Martin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to all
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Still down for me using OpenDNS



Tracing route to www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router [10.82.235.6]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 11 ms 9 ms 6 ms uddi-core-2b-xe-804-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.2.149]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 34 ms 13 ms 16 ms manc-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.118]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 34 ms 14 ms 18 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.110]
9 16 ms 22 ms 17 ms brhm-apm-1-in.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.222]
10 17 ms 17 ms 16 ms bmly-bam-1.network.virginmedia.net [194.145.148.169]
11 15 ms 22 ms 15 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae12-20.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.217]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 17 ms 20 ms 19 ms know-dclcore-1b-port-channel1.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.85.22]
15 24 ms 18 ms 18 ms www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]

Trace complete.
Martin_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 21:45   #19
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Just browsing through twitter and even potential new customers can't get on (great start for them isn't it?) they've said they are aware of an issue and are working on a fix

Begs the question if they are aware it why not put it on the status page it still only shows an issue with emails
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 22:09   #20
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,468
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin-D View Post
Just browsing through twitter and even potential new customers can't get on (great start for them isn't it?) they've said they are aware of an issue and are working on a fix

Begs the question if they are aware it why not put it on the status page it still only shows an issue with emails

I phoned the service status line and said problems with e-mail, fix eta 2/12/2017
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 22:39   #21
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,584
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin-D View Post
I just found the link by typing it in google what site did you do your test on?
Click on start, type cmd in the run bar (or whatever you call it), hit enter and a command prompt will pop up. Type:

Tracert www.virginmedia.com

And press enter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_D View Post
Still down for me using OpenDNS



Tracing route to www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router [10.82.235.6]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 11 ms 9 ms 6 ms uddi-core-2b-xe-804-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.2.149]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 34 ms 13 ms 16 ms manc-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.118]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 34 ms 14 ms 18 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.110]
9 16 ms 22 ms 17 ms brhm-apm-1-in.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.222]
10 17 ms 17 ms 16 ms bmly-bam-1.network.virginmedia.net [194.145.148.169]
11 15 ms 22 ms 15 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae12-20.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.217]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 17 ms 20 ms 19 ms know-dclcore-1b-port-channel1.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.85.22]
15 24 ms 18 ms 18 ms www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]

Trace complete.
I have see this once before. Your trace is completing so the server is physically online but there is a problem with the web service. It still works fine for me but we are taking a completely dicferent path. It isnt a dns iszue because we are both resolving the same ip.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 22:47   #22
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Thanks I have the following

1 40 ms 4 ms 1 ms (my IP)
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 16 ms 16 ms 14 ms midd-core-2b-xe-113-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.68.153]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 24 ms 36 ms 28 ms manc-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.118]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 28 ms 25 ms 30 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.110]
9 30 ms 30 ms 27 ms brhm-apm-1-in.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.222]
10 26 ms 28 ms 28 ms bmly-bam-1.network.virginmedia.net [194.145.148.169]
11 27 ms 34 ms 41 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae12-20.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.217]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 26 ms 31 ms 26 ms know-dclcore-1b-port-channel1.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.85.22]
15 35 ms 30 ms 35 ms www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]

Trace complete.
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 23:03   #23
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,584
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

You have got the same problem, Manchester, Birmingham and Knowsley. Strange that mine works and goes up to Leeds.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 10:30   #24
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Still down over 24 hours now...
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 10:47   #25
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,468
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin-D View Post
Still down over 24 hours now...

VM have given a fix date of 2/12/
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 11:04   #26
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
VM have given a fix date of 2/12/
Still nothing on my status page bar the email issue

Not good when potential new customers are also the same issue
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 11:09   #27
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,468
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin-D View Post
Still nothing on my status page bar the email issue

Not good when potential new customers are also the same issue
Agree. I did phone the status line and the was the info they gave 2/12 mind you they did not state a year .


Expect it to be back some time between now and then.
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 11:57   #28
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,519
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Server pings OK, just no web service.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 14:20   #29
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,361
Gavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of QuadsGavin-D has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Virginmedia.com has returned after more than 30 hours offline
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 15:18   #30
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,519
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virginmedia.com down?

Still off-line here.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:55.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.