Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Internet connection

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Internet connection
View Poll Results: How do you connect your V6 to the internet?
Connected directly my Superhub 12 35.29%
Via home plugs 3 8.82%
Wireless 17 50.00%
Donít know 2 5.88%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-11-2017, 23:50   #1
mhatter67
cf.mega poster
 
mhatter67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Luton
Services: Big Kahuna, Phone XL, Boxnation
Posts: 1,454
mhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful one
Question Internet connection

Just wondering how your new TiVo V6 box is connected to the internet? In my case with the new Superhub 3 I have had a world of trouble with my home plugs since the instillation, so now resorting to connecting it by WiFi now!
__________________
Mad as a Hatter
mhatter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 24-11-2017, 00:12   #2
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 5,395
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhatter67 View Post
Just wondering how your new TiVo V6 box is connected to the internet? In my case with the new Superhub 3 I have had a world of trouble with my home plugs since the instillation, so now resorting to connecting it by WiFi now!
I'm connected very successfully to wifi.

I don't understand why you are having trouble with your home plugs. Maybe one of our more technically minded gurus can help with that. Did you set it up yourself or did Virgin carry out the installation?
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 00:19   #3
mhatter67
cf.mega poster
 
mhatter67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Luton
Services: Big Kahuna, Phone XL, Boxnation
Posts: 1,454
mhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful one
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I'm connected very successfully to wifi.

I don't understand why you are having trouble with your home plugs. Maybe one of our more technically minded gurus can help with that. Did you set it up yourself or did Virgin carry out the installation?
They set it up, had no problems with the home plugs on my old Superhub 2, then with the new Superhub get constant loss of connection, very annoying when watching Netflix when it stops and gets stuck on 25%
__________________
Mad as a Hatter
mhatter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 00:34   #4
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,022
Mad Max has reached the bronze age
Mad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze age
Re: Internet connection

The hub 3 is crap!
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 00:38   #5
mhatter67
cf.mega poster
 
mhatter67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Luton
Services: Big Kahuna, Phone XL, Boxnation
Posts: 1,454
mhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful one
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
The hub 3 is crap!
I agree, shame that a hub that everyone seems to be complaining about ever got launched with all the issues
__________________
Mad as a Hatter
mhatter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 08:23   #6
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 5,395
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
OLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appealOLD BOY has a bronzed appeal
Re: Internet connection

I have a hub 3 but haven't noticed any issues yet.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 09:25   #7
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,163
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Internet connection

Homeplugs are susceptible to interference and clashing with each other, and performance can be affected by how the mains cabling in your house is wired.

Your poll is flawed by the way, as many people will have more than one V6, connected by different means.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 11:01   #8
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,395
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhatter67 View Post
I agree, shame that a hub that everyone seems to be complaining about ever got launched with all the issues
Obviously you've never heard of the SH1 then.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 21:01   #9
Raider999
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 261
Raider999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Internet connection

Have 2 v6 boxes, 1 is next to the hub and is connected via Ethernet cable the other is upstairs and connected via wifi.

Shame the poll doesn't allow a vote that reflects this.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2017, 21:54   #10
mhatter67
cf.mega poster
 
mhatter67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Luton
Services: Big Kahuna, Phone XL, Boxnation
Posts: 1,454
mhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful one
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Have 2 v6 boxes, 1 is next to the hub and is connected via Ethernet cable the other is upstairs and connected via wifi.

Shame the poll doesn't allow a vote that reflects this.
Sorry about that, interesting that not many people use home plugs with their V6!
__________________
Mad as a Hatter
mhatter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 00:48   #11
multiskilled
cf.geek
 
multiskilled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Near Newcastle upon Tyne
Services: Player tv , V6, phone l, bb70Meg.
Posts: 877
multiskilled has reached the bronze age
multiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze agemultiskilled has reached the bronze age
Re: Internet connection

Connected by wifi, no problems using hub2.
__________________
"If it don't fit don't force it!"
multiskilled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 08:41   #12
arcimedes
cf.mega poster
 
arcimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Services: TV XL ,TiVo X 2, 200Mb Broadband XL phone
Posts: 1,055
arcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant future
Re: Internet connection

I put down that mine is connected to the superhub as you didn't provide a category for other router (ASUS)
arcimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 16:47   #13
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: FHTV, Sports & Movies (2x V6), TA Telco, VIVID 350. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile
Posts: 1,511
nodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these parts
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Have 2 v6 boxes, 1 is next to the hub and is connected via Ethernet cable the other is upstairs and connected via wifi.

Shame the poll doesn't allow a vote that reflects this.
Mine is the opposite. Lounge Box connected via 5Ghz WiFi, Bedroom box via a 4 metre ethernet cable.

Would be interesting to know how many people are getting away with using 2.4Ghz as opposed to 5Ghz. I have a stronger signal on 2.4 but streaming HD was causing issues.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 17:02   #14
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,022
Mad Max has reached the bronze age
Mad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze age
Re: Internet connection

I use 2.4, 5 was utter crap!
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 22:53   #15
mhatter67
cf.mega poster
 
mhatter67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Luton
Services: Big Kahuna, Phone XL, Boxnation
Posts: 1,454
mhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful onemhatter67 is the helpful one
Re: Internet connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodrogd View Post
Mine is the opposite. Lounge Box connected via 5Ghz WiFi, Bedroom box via a 4 metre ethernet cable.

Would be interesting to know how many people are getting away with using 2.4Ghz as opposed to 5Ghz. I have a stronger signal on 2.4 but streaming HD was causing issues.
Stupid question but does the new Superhub 3 choose the strongest channel for you?
__________________
Mad as a Hatter
mhatter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:13.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.