Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Mobile Phone Service

Using phone as a WiFi hotspot
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2017, 11:50   #1
MalteseFalcon
cf.mega poster
 
MalteseFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Deepest pits of Hell
Age: 33
Posts: 4,771
MalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronze
MalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronzeMalteseFalcon is cast in bronze
Send a message via AIM to MalteseFalcon
Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

I am going away this week with work and just wondering if I was to use my mobile as a WiFi hotspot to use my laptop, would it use up any of my mobile data allowance? If so, is there a rough estimate of how much data it would use up?
__________________
http://www.cableforum.co.uk/gifs/sigpic84934_2.gif
MalteseFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-11-2017, 12:13   #2
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 and TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 16,224
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

You're not allowed to use your phone as a mobile hotspot to tether other devices.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 13:32   #3
arcimedes
cf.mega poster
 
arcimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oxfordshire
Services: TV XL ,TiVo X 2, 200Mb Broadband XL phone
Posts: 1,055
arcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant futurearcimedes has a brilliant future
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

I have a USB device from 3 that I use occasionally. Its not too expensive to buy. As for how much data it would use up. It depends on what you are doing.
arcimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 17:40   #4
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,519
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

Quote:
Originally Posted by arcimedes View Post
I have a USB device from 3 that I use occasionally. Its not too expensive to buy. As for how much data it would use up. It depends on what you are doing.
I have a similar USB device from Vodafone (2 and 3G). A 250Mbyte PAYG data pack costs 5 and lasts 90 days. Bigger packs are available. Certainly a week's browse and email. (No videos) Remember to turn off all automatic updates otherwise they'll swallow up the allowance in an instant.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada

Last edited by heero_yuy; 05-11-2017 at 17:41. Reason: typo
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 17:44   #5
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,398
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
You're not allowed to use your phone as a mobile hotspot to tether other devices.
I can use mine. You are presuming the OP has a VM mobile phone. As he hasn't said who knows?
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 18:06   #6
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 10,167
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
I can use mine. You are presuming the OP has a VM mobile phone. As he hasn't said who knows?
He did post in the Virgin Mobile section though.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 18:16   #7
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,398
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Using phone as a WiFi hotspot

Oooops my bad.
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:36.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.