Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Which router for QOS and N & G devices?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 15:10   #1
UserOfVirgin
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
UserOfVirgin is an unknown quantity at this point
Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Hi all,

I've just ordered my upgrade from 10Mb connection to 30Mb connection with VM. They're sending out a Superhub, but in all truth it doesn't look like it provides what I'm after.

I currently have a PS3, Xbox360, 2 laptops, several smart phones, a wireless printer, Freesat box and NAS device connecting to my wireless network. As you can imagine, at times the bandwidth is in demand.

All my devices except the printer support N WiFi signals (except the NAS but that's wired). The printer needs to be wireless sadly. So I need a router that will support G and N networks at the same time, not just one that is switchable to either network. On top of that I'd like to manage the bandwidth so my PS3 gets priority over my wife's mobile browsing on her smartphone so it doesn't interrupt my gaming.

I've tried numerous google searches but so far I've not found anything that ticks all the boxes.
UserOfVirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-05-2012, 15:34   #2
qasdfdsaq
cf. mega noob
 
qasdfdsaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Every N router supports G at the same time.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 15:37   #3
thenry
cf.mega poster
 
thenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 13,860
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

cheap option d link 615 £10 ebay

high end Linksys
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 15:37   #4
qasdfdsaq
cf. mega noob
 
qasdfdsaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

D-Link 615 with DD-WRT offers very fine-grained control of QoS settings both wired and wireless.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 15:38   #5
UserOfVirgin
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
UserOfVirgin is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

I was under the impression that the Superhub was a case of having an N network or a G network?

As in if I enabled the N network features my G network printer wouldn't connect?
UserOfVirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 16:08   #6
qasdfdsaq
cf. mega noob
 
qasdfdsaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

No.

Every N router supports G at the same time.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 16:34   #7
craigj2k12
Sell me this pen....
Snake Champion
 
craigj2k12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stafford
Posts: 4,217
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
craigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appealcraigj2k12 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

the superhub did have a bug where it wouldnt allow G devices to connect in N mode, but as far as I know this has been fixed
craigj2k12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 20:11   #8
Dash: CF noob
cf.geek
 
Dash: CF noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: BL
Services: VM Premiere. TIVO V+HD, 50mb/3. SH1, WIN 10 7" Tab, Samsung Galaxy S3
Posts: 693
Dash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of societyDash: CF noob is a pillar of society
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

I thought running a G device on an N network slows all the other devices down to G speeds?

I.E. MAX 54MB.
__________________
Live VM50 Pingy
My VM pingy
Dash: CF noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 20:57   #9
UserOfVirgin
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
UserOfVirgin is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

I'm thinking about removing the printer from the WiFi network, so the network will be all N.

The only thing I'd be looking for then would be decent QOS to ensure I get priority connections
UserOfVirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 21:23   #10
qasdfdsaq
cf. mega noob
 
qasdfdsaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash: CF noob View Post
I thought running a G device on an N network slows all the other devices down to G speeds?

I.E. MAX 54MB.
No it doesn't.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:05   #11
UserOfVirgin
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
UserOfVirgin is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
D-Link 615 with DD-WRT offers very fine-grained control of QoS settings both wired and wireless.
That DD-WRT looks complicated?

Anyone recommend a decent router that would give excellent QOS services out of the box please?

Also, is the Superhub as bad as it sounds online? I've seen plenty of horror stories about poor WiFi and other issues?
UserOfVirgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:04   #12
kwikbreaks
Escapee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Services: Plusnet FTTC, FoxSat HDR for TV, Vonage VOIP.
Posts: 2,082
kwikbreaks has reached the bronze age
kwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze age
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UserOfVirgin View Post
Also, is the Superhub as bad as it sounds online? I've seen plenty of horror stories about poor WiFi and other issues?
Regardless of any other issues it may have (and there are plenty for sure) it doesn't provide your basic requirement of QoS.

There are routers which will have something simple such as "enable Qos" without having to do lots of other settings but they cannot possibly provide "excellent QoS" because for that you need to specify quite precise rules.

I use Tomato firmware which has quite easy to use QoS settings but it hasn't been developed for years and only works on pretty old routers so I doubt you'd find one that would handle N amongst them.
kwikbreaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 17:17   #13
qasdfdsaq
cf. mega noob
 
qasdfdsaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

The only thing that has better/easier QoS out of the box is Gargoyle, and that's harder to set up.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 22:33   #14
dave.m
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 94
dave.m is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikbreaks View Post
Regardless of any other issues it may have (and there are plenty for sure) it doesn't provide your basic requirement of QoS.

There are routers which will have something simple such as "enable Qos" without having to do lots of other settings but they cannot possibly provide "excellent QoS" because for that you need to specify quite precise rules.

I use Tomato firmware which has quite easy to use QoS settings but it hasn't been developed for years and only works on pretty old routers so I doubt you'd find one that would handle N amongst them.
Jonathan Zarate (Original author) hasn't updated since 1.28(2010) but there are quite a few different branches that extend & update functionality and add support for current routers.

Tomato is very much alive.

Check out linksys forums for info.
dave.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 22:56   #15
kwikbreaks
Escapee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Services: Plusnet FTTC, FoxSat HDR for TV, Vonage VOIP.
Posts: 2,082
kwikbreaks has reached the bronze age
kwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze agekwikbreaks has reached the bronze age
Re: Which router for QOS and N & G devices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave.m View Post
Jonathan Zarate (Original author) hasn't updated since 1.28(2010) but there are quite a few different branches that extend & update functionality and add support for current routers.

Tomato is very much alive.

Check out linksys forums for info.
Ah cheers - I just use it on an old Buffalo router which I only have as an internet gateway and DHCP server (the rest of my network is just a couple of gigabit switches) - plenty good enough for that and as the only wireless I use is for phones the G it runs is good enough for them too. I find the QoS invaluable and the bandwidth tools are useful too.
kwikbreaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:31.


Server: gallium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.