Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2012, 11:38   #1
mikes12345
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Services: 2 x TIVO 500GB, XL TV, BB XL 60MB
Posts: 25
mikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nice
iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Recently I have noticed that my broadband speed is very slow - but haven't done anything about it as I figured my area is probably just over subscribed and nothing realistically will be changeable in the short to medium term. I was however dissapointed when I tried to watch a program on the iPlayer (TiVo). I used HD mode only to be presented with buffering screens and eventually told that I have insufficient bandwidth to watch the program. (I should add I then switched HD mode off and the program played - but was jittery - had a few break ups and a couple of buffering screens but not too bad)

Given that I understand the TiVo has it's own modem I would have thought that this should not be an issue?

Does anyone know if a) there is any point me reporting this as a fault b) there is any way to force the TiVo to use standard on demand rather than iPlayer (and if that would make any difference).

When I first took out Virgin Media I regularly found on demand would not work with messages to the effect that my area is over subscribed - but recently that seemed to have got better. I am now wondering if that was just my perception because TiVo suggestions mean I watch on demand less as TiVo records stuff for me.

If it helps I am in the north Bristol area connected to the Aztec West hub (or whatever the correct word is).

Thanks in advance for your help.
mikes12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-04-2012, 13:17   #2
nefu
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Swindon
Services: XXL Broadband, XL TV, Tivo, V+, XXL phone, several mobiles!
Posts: 81
nefu has disabled reputation
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

I have same problem in Swindon - can't watch HD on-demand stuff in the evening, have to watch it in standard definition. Repeated calls to CS have not solved the problem, although I did get several credits (I'd rather have HD than a refund tho).
nefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 19:32   #3
mikes12345
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Services: 2 x TIVO 500GB, XL TV, BB XL 60MB
Posts: 25
mikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nicemikes12345 is just really nice
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

It sounds like you had very similar problems to me.

Does anyone know if there is any solution to this - or a suggested way forward? Should I just put up with it for now - is this sort of thing monitored and will it be resolved automatically eventually?
mikes12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 19:35   #4
devilincarnate
Still REIGNING
 
devilincarnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hell
Age: 40
Posts: 5,898
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Have you tried posting the problems over on here to see if they are able to help?

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TiVo/bd-p/Tivo
__________________
So scatter all my ashes when I'm dead
And shatter every legend in my head
If only the committed will survive...
Is anybody here still left alive!?
devilincarnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:14   #5
aldo
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
aldo is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

I get the same problem. Very rarely use catch up as I tend to record stuff I want to watch but when I do its really frustrating to find its just not very good. And iplayer programs normally finish early before the credits too.

I'm on a tivo near Portsmouth. Oh and I sill have terrible lip sync issues on itv HD!
aldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:56   #6
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NearBaton Rouge, Louisiana odd days in Cardiff South Wales
Age: 65
Services: TiVo ,Virgin XL. Phone Broadband. freeview(x 3 sets) COX tv ,Contour only need one for WHOLE house
Posts: 2,603
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

What will it be like if the full red button comes via I player
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 19:54   #7
gavinlew
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
gavinlew is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

I have the same issue, I am also connected to the Aztec West UBR im in BS37.
I have spoken with the CEO's office (as my parents in BS10 had major problems with a new install)and have an engineering visit for Bank Holiday Monday to look at the power levels as remotely they are "too low" for a reliable service.

Cheers
Gavin
gavinlew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 19:59   #8
Chad
cf.mega poster
 
Chad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Services: SKY Family, SKY Broadband Unlimited, YouView, Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Boxnation
Posts: 4,660
Chad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny star
Chad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny star
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

And on the back of this recent campaign from Virgin too:

http://mediacentre.virginmedia.com/S...-ads-236f.aspx

“The unexpected interruption to primetime TV brings home the message that viewers shouldn’t settle for buffering on TV or online. More and more people are watching content online, from BBC iPlayer to LoveFilm and YouTube, and they deserve a great viewing experience every time. Superfast broadband comes as standard with Virgin Media so our customers can wave bye bye to buffering and enjoy the online TV, films and entertainment they love.”
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 20:35   #9
Zee
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North West London
Age: 27
Services: BT Infinity Option 2, BT Talk Unlimited, Three PAYG, Giffgaff PAYG, Sky TV Entertainment Package
Posts: 2,962
Zee has reached the bronze age
Zee has reached the bronze ageZee has reached the bronze ageZee has reached the bronze ageZee has reached the bronze ageZee has reached the bronze age
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad View Post
And on the back of this recent campaign from Virgin too:

http://mediacentre.virginmedia.com/S...-ads-236f.aspx

“The unexpected interruption to primetime TV brings home the message that viewers shouldn’t settle for buffering on TV or online. More and more people are watching content online, from BBC iPlayer to LoveFilm and YouTube, and they deserve a great viewing experience every time. Superfast broadband comes as standard with Virgin Media so our customers can wave bye bye to buffering and enjoy the online TV, films and entertainment they love.”
yeah what a lie, when Virgin Media is the worst ISP in the UK to stream youtube with.
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:51   #10
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NearBaton Rouge, Louisiana odd days in Cardiff South Wales
Age: 65
Services: TiVo ,Virgin XL. Phone Broadband. freeview(x 3 sets) COX tv ,Contour only need one for WHOLE house
Posts: 2,603
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zee View Post
yeah what a lie, when Virgin Media is the worst ISP in the UK to stream youtube with.

only tried this once on the TiVo what a load of rubbish !
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:52   #11
carlwaring
Permanently Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 49
Services: XL TV, XL Phone, 30mb BB, 1TB Tivo
Posts: 3,722
carlwaring has reached the bronze age
carlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze agecarlwaring has reached the bronze age
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zee View Post
yeah what a lie, when Virgin Media is the worst ISP in the UK to stream youtube with.
If that is opinion then fine, but if it's a statement of fact, please cite sources to back it up.

I have only tried YT on my Tivo a couple of times, but it's been fine.
carlwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 19:58   #12
7031
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: at my desk
Services: 100Mbit Broadband
Posts: 95
7031 is on a distinguished road7031 is on a distinguished road
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zee View Post
yeah what a lie, when Virgin Media is the worst ISP in the UK to stream youtube with.
Really? I switched to Virgin Media from BE about a year ago and it's actually been very good in my experience. OK it's not perfect but I'd pick this over ADSL any day, and honestly I was pretty happy with my ADSL connection.

That said, it seems to be a lucky dip with Virgin Media - some seem to have very good connections, others seem to have completely unusable ones due to contention issues which VM seem to refuse to fix.
7031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 20:50   #13
HDFootyMan
virgintivo.blogspot.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry
Services: Virgin Media 1TB TiVo, 500Gb TiVo, TV XL, 60Mb Broadband, Phone
Posts: 1,508
HDFootyMan has reached the bronze age
HDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze ageHDFootyMan has reached the bronze age
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Tried to playback the HD version of last night's The Apprentice on my XBox 360 - it just stopped, restarted, stopped, restarted etc.

So its not just the TiVo that has issues when playing iPlayer content on VM's network. Looks like the link from the BBC (or their Content Delivery Network?) to VM hasn't got enough bandwidth.

If that's the case, that seriously needs to be upgraded before the Olympics and the arrival of those 24 IPTV streams.
__________________
The Virgin Media TiVo Blog | http://virgintivo.blogspot.com/ | http://twitter.com/VM_TiVoBlog
The PVR Comparison Document | http://tiny.cc/sxyu4

The unofficial Blog bringing you news and details about Virgin Media's TiVo products
HDFootyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 15:09   #14
andy_m
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North-West Kent
Services: VM Tivo 1gb-TV xl/30mb BB/xl phone
Posts: 2,884
andy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze array
andy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze arrayandy_m has a bronze array
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

Seriously guys, why is there even a discussion about this. If I player on TiVo isn't working then report it, don't put up with it. Let us know how you get on.
andy_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 15:12   #15
gavinlew
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
gavinlew is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: iPlayer - Insufficient Bandwidth

I've made sure the CEOs office is fully aware of the issues hopefully their visit tomorrow will resolve the problem
gavinlew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:13.


Server: lithium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.