Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-02-2011, 11:46   #1
Topgun
1 of a 1000!
 
Topgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kent
Age: 56
Services: VIP Collection.
Posts: 175
Topgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of light
TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

As the other TiVo thread seems to be getting quite large now, and is mostly concerned with people actually trying to get one, I thought perhaps another thread is needed for those lucky enough to actually have had TiVo installed, where any questions could be put or tips given.
Kicking things off then, does anybody know if it is possible to back up something from the TiVo hard drive to a DVD recorder as could be done with a V+? I've been through the menu but can't seem to see it as an option!
Topgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 17-02-2011, 12:30   #2
WooLLsterQ
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Services: VM Tivo, 2x V+, BBI XXL (superhub), XL Telco, SS HD + SM HD
Posts: 111
WooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about them
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Yep just link the recorder into scart on tivo play/watch what you want to transfer and record it on your recorder.
WooLLsterQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 13:01   #3
Topgun
1 of a 1000!
 
Topgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kent
Age: 56
Services: VIP Collection.
Posts: 175
Topgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of light
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WooLLsterQ View Post
Yep just link the recorder into scart on tivo play/watch what you want to transfer and record it on your recorder.
Excellent, thanks. Presumably you can't have that going on in the background then whilst you watch something else like you could on the V+, or can you?
Topgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 13:45   #4
Stephen
Four leaf clover
Cable Forum Team
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 36
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 11,763
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgun View Post
Excellent, thanks. Presumably you can't have that going on in the background then whilst you watch something else like you could on the V+, or can you?
Don't think so, mainly cause you have 1GB of storage. You don't really need to back it up lol.
__________________
X360 Gamertag: MartyMcFly88 PSN ID: martymcfly88
if a post is bold it's a moderating decision.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 13:50   #5
Hambone88
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 56
Posts: 27
Hambone88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
Don't think so, mainly cause you have 1GB of storage. You don't really need to back it up lol.
That is a pain.
I send a lot of shows over to family in Canada and
having to do it one by one and not able to watch anything
else is going to be a non starter for me.
Hambone88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 13:55   #6
WooLLsterQ
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Services: VM Tivo, 2x V+, BBI XXL (superhub), XL Telco, SS HD + SM HD
Posts: 111
WooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about themWooLLsterQ has a spectacular aura about them
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

That's how it's done for now
WooLLsterQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 14:01   #7
Perfect Choice
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham
Services: L TV, M phone, 50MB BB, VM TIVO, Super Hub2, Sony HX803 3D TV, PS3, Wii, Xbox360, Freeview
Posts: 697
Perfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to beholdPerfect Choice is a splendid one to behold
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Another of the "to do" items to add to the list then, the HDD could fail whatever capacity it has, so important recordings need a facility to back up and it would be crazy to limit this to something you have to watch to record. Needs same facaility as V+. In our house it is used to copy a programme onto DVD so it can be played on another TV in the house with a DVD player.
Perfect Choice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 15:04   #8
Topgun
1 of a 1000!
 
Topgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kent
Age: 56
Services: VIP Collection.
Posts: 175
Topgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of lightTopgun is a glorious beacon of light
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perfect Choice View Post
Another of the "to do" items to add to the list then, the HDD could fail whatever capacity it has, so important recordings need a facility to back up and it would be crazy to limit this to something you have to watch to record. Needs same facaility as V+. In our house it is used to copy a programme onto DVD so it can be played on another TV in the house with a DVD player.
I agree. Although TiVo is a step up from the V+ in so many ways, this is obviously not one of them!
Topgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 15:57   #9
savvychels
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dorset
Services: VIP120 w/ TiVo x2
Posts: 629
savvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpack
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hambone88 View Post
That is a pain.
I send a lot of shows over to family in Canada and
having to do it one by one and not able to watch anything
else is going to be a non starter for me.
How do you send to family in Canada with things being different formats (PAL/NTSC)? Just curious as there's things I'd love to send to a couple of friends/family back home, but unable to do so.

Feel free to pm me as I suppose this question is already taking the thread off course.
savvychels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 16:24   #10
spligosh
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Age: 57
Services: Virgin XL TV, XL Phone, 20MB Broadband
Posts: 23
spligosh is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Does anyone know if you can connect Tivo to your wireless network to stream content from your computer - or a NAS - I seem to think they can do this in the US?
spligosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 18:17   #11
HandsOfBlue
cf.two-by-two
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Age: 6
Services: VIP50 TIVO
Posts: 21
HandsOfBlue is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by savvychels View Post
How do you send to family in Canada with things being different formats (PAL/NTSC)? Just curious as there's things I'd love to send to a couple of friends/family back home, but unable to do so.

Feel free to pm me as I suppose this question is already taking the thread off course.
You could use a tool like Handbrake to convert it to a more portable format (MKV/MP4).
HandsOfBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 18:20   #12
Stephen
Four leaf clover
Cable Forum Team
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 36
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 11,763
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spligosh View Post
Does anyone know if you can connect Tivo to your wireless network to stream content from your computer - or a NAS - I seem to think they can do this in the US?
The box doesn't have wireless but has an Ethernet port and in the menus a media key is mentioned so I think it's possible that network playback will be possible eventually.
__________________
X360 Gamertag: MartyMcFly88 PSN ID: martymcfly88
if a post is bold it's a moderating decision.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 18:42   #13
Hambone88
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 56
Posts: 27
Hambone88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by savvychels View Post
How do you send to family in Canada with things being different formats (PAL/NTSC)? Just curious as there's things I'd love to send to a couple of friends/family back home, but unable to do so.

Feel free to pm me as I suppose this question is already taking the thread off course.
It's a bit like here
The cheap DVD players will play anything
And the Sony type won't.
My cousin bought a DVD player for 40 bucks
And it plays everything
No conversion req
Hambone88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2011, 20:13   #14
savvychels
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dorset
Services: VIP120 w/ TiVo x2
Posts: 629
savvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpacksavvychels has a very nice sixpack
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hambone88 View Post
It's a bit like here
The cheap DVD players will play anything
And the Sony type won't.
My cousin bought a DVD player for 40 bucks
And it plays everything
No conversion req
I'll have to send something over and see if they're able to play it then. When I've sent home movies I've always changed them to NTSC format to make up the DVD on the computer.

Will have a go and see what happens - thanks
savvychels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2011, 17:06   #15
Andy C
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Farnborough
Age: 43
Services: VM TiVo & V-HD, XXL BB (50Mb), Freeview HD, Mac, Win7, WinXP, PS2, PS3
Posts: 260
Andy C is just really niceAndy C is just really niceAndy C is just really niceAndy C is just really niceAndy C is just really niceAndy C is just really nice
Re: TiVo. Problems, hints and tips!

Some remote tips from the guys over at tivocommunity, many still from the S1 days...

* Pressing CLEAR works as a shortcut for delete on most pages - most handy on the "my shows" page
* Press and hold TEXT switches your TV AV sources - that's how I flip between VM TiVo / TiVo S1 / DVD
* Press and hold POWER button turn turn TV on/off - a short press makes TiVo go into standby
* Press SLOW to toggle mini TV screen at top right

* The good old shortcuts still work - though it's "home" and not "TiVo" button:

Home+Home : My recordings (now playing)
Home+1 : Manage series links
Home+2 : Planned recordings (todo list)
Home+3 : Wishlists
Home+4 : Search all TV
Home+5 : Browse all TV
Home+0 : full screen TV + pause ?

Cheers,

A.
__________________
Services: Full House TV (XL + Movies & Sport) + TiVo 1TB and V-HD, VIVID 200 Broadband, Talk More International Anytime Phone.
Cable customer since joining CableTel back in 1996.
Andy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:10.


Server: calcium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.