Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin Media TiVo iPad app
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 19:24   #1
DaBoz
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 483
DaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to behold
Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

The idea of a Virgin Media TiVo iPad app sounds great:
http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...service-912206

Couple of questions:
1) to the VM staff trialling VM TiVo, did you get to trial an iPad app too?
2) how come the standard TiVo iPad app isn't available in the UK, even though the UK has had TiVo for years?
http://www.tivo.com/mytivo/product-f...pad/index.html

Thanks

Boz
DaBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-02-2011, 19:39   #2
haydnwalker
cf.mega poster
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doncaster, S. Yorks.
Age: 33
Services: TV:Sky+, BB:DRL VDSL2 40/10 with Ask4, Phone:Mobile Only
Posts: 2,320
haydnwalker has reached the bronze age
haydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Its not specifically a VM iPad app for TiVO, but TiVOs own app, which will be made available to VM TiVO Customers.
haydnwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:15   #3
SuperHighway
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
SuperHighway is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

I want.......................
SuperHighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:21   #4
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, XL TV, 152Mb Broadband
Posts: 15,656
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Who wouldn't want a £600 remote control........
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:30   #5
haydnwalker
cf.mega poster
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doncaster, S. Yorks.
Age: 33
Services: TV:Sky+, BB:DRL VDSL2 40/10 with Ask4, Phone:Mobile Only
Posts: 2,320
haydnwalker has reached the bronze age
haydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

I kind of thought the same thing....though it would be more useful if VM provided a web-based option to record/view EPG for people
haydnwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:32   #6
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, XL TV, 152Mb Broadband
Posts: 15,656
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by haydnwalker View Post
I kind of thought the same thing....though it would be more useful if VM provided a web-based option to record/view EPG for people
They do http://tv.virginmedia.com
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:32   #7
SuperHighway
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
SuperHighway is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

but if you already have an iPad it's at zero additional cost - wouldn't go and buy one just for the app.
SuperHighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:53   #8
haydnwalker
cf.mega poster
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doncaster, S. Yorks.
Age: 33
Services: TV:Sky+, BB:DRL VDSL2 40/10 with Ask4, Phone:Mobile Only
Posts: 2,320
haydnwalker has reached the bronze age
haydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze agehaydnwalker has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
I didn't know about that Thanks Ben
haydnwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 12:04   #9
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,070
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperHighway View Post
but if you already have an iPad it's at zero additional cost - wouldn't go and buy one just for the app.
Must admit mate I have an iPad and would love that app , my main problem is the lack of a TIVO LOL
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 13:18   #10
DaBoz
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 483
DaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to behold
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Who wouldn't want a £600 remote control........
I assume you're making a funny comment.
Some people at the TiVo community forum have downloaded the US iPad app from the US app store. Not sure anyone's actually tried it with VM TiVo yet.

Boz
DaBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 14:38   #11
uksurfing
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
uksurfing is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

TOP TIP: To create a US itunes account: boot up itunes on the computer you use to sync device (ipad?). registrar on the US itunes store .. when it asks you for a payment type click none or no credit card. It will ask for a zip code. 90210? or 10036 midtown Manhattan maybe less obvious.
uksurfing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 20:15   #12
DaBoz
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 483
DaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to behold
Question Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

So will the VM TiVo app allow us to watch VM content on the iPad too?

I know we miss out on the Virgin Player on idevices because of flash/DRM/license issues, bit the US don't have this problem. They have things like Slingbox which will allow them to watch anything on the DVR.

It seems odd that those sorts of Apple vs DRM issues don't seem to hold the yanks back like it does with us.

Any thoughts? Or have i misunderstood this issue?

Boz
DaBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 21:07   #13
pauldavies83
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 194
pauldavies83 is on a distinguished roadpauldavies83 is on a distinguished road
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBoz View Post
So will the VM TiVo app allow us to watch VM content on the iPad too?
The standard TiVo iPad app doesn't provide watching - its merely a way of controlling your box and it's schedule

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBoz View Post
I know we miss out on the Virgin Player on idevices because of flash/DRM/license issues,
Virgin Player mobile works on the iPhone - just not on WiFi (only on 3G - I assume its a rights issue).

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBoz View Post
It seems odd that those sorts of Apple vs DRM issues don't seem to hold the yanks back like it does with us.

Any thoughts? Or have i misunderstood this issue?

Boz
I don't think it's anything to do with Apple - their hardware doesn't play Flash - it's up to the content provider to find a way around that. The BBC and Sky seem to manage just fine.
pauldavies83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 21:18   #14
graeme2b
Fully Virginised!!!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Services: V+HD, 50MB, Unlimited Phone, Sky+HD 1Tb, Apple iPhone 4, Apple Macbook. TiVo.
Posts: 31
graeme2b is on a distinguished roadgraeme2b is on a distinguished road
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Anybody else wondering how this is going to work? I have TiVo and the US version of the app obviously they dont work.. yet! But the US version obviously looks for the box locally, using ethernet connection to a router. Virgins wont be wireless I assume (unless its some massive secret easter egg for us later?) which would mean that it would then have to connect via the internet meaning possible lag when changing channels etc....

your thoughts please...
graeme2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 21:44   #15
DaBoz
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 483
DaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to beholdDaBoz is a splendid one to behold
Re: Virgin Media TiVo iPad app

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauldavies83 View Post
The standard TiVo iPad app doesn't provide watching - its merely a way of controlling your box and it's schedule

Virgin Player mobile works on the iPhone - just not on WiFi (only on 3G - I assume its a rights issue).

I don't think it's anything to do with Apple - their hardware doesn't play Flash - it's up to the content provider to find a way around that. The BBC and Sky seem to manage just fine.
Didn't know about the 3G thing. That makes no sense at all!

Hmm, whenever I've brought this up before, I get anti apple people banging on about how Apple are anti DRM (flash isnt the obstacle, as BBC and others do fine). Ah well, i wish someone would sort it out, as the US have a fantastic service in this arena.

Boz
DaBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:14.


Server: niobium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 2
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.