Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Please document any V6 issues here.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Please document any V6 issues here.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 15:42   #211
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 3,989
OLD BOY has reached the bronze age
OLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze age
Re: Please document any V6 issues here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_gain View Post
Perhaps you've been lucky with your V6s.... you can't refute one anecdotal piece of evidence with another but I had 4 legacy boxes with only one that needed restarted (i.e. crashed) the other 3 just ran non-top.

The new boxes seems to be repeating similar early issues as the legacy box did (wonder when they digital out will start playing up) but aside from any issues can we really say a fully operational V6 is far superior to a fully working legacy box?

Apart from the performance issues which should't be there in the first place and perhaps its smaller form factor the V6 is pretty much the same box. The V6 is a better experience yes but simply because I'm not questioning myself as to whether I've actually pressed a button on the remote, I'd not go overboard with the hyperbole because of this, mainly because the V6 level of performance should be the baseline for the legacy box.

With regard to the black screen issue i'm pretty sure what I experience is similar to that of a know issue and I have adjusted the power saving settings and have introduced a delay in switching on the V6 to make sure all the required devices in the signal flow are on before the V6 is turned on to discount any HDMI handshake issues but still get it every so often and every so often it gets stuck in "Waking Up" if it has been turned off. I'll learn to live with it as the start up following a poweroff and on isn't too long

With regard to the noise it's not an amplification of a vibration by the unit it is on. It's the actually disk spinning that;s producing the nouse short of opening up the box and adding some noise suppression I'm kind of stuck with it. Be a pretty good tool for producing a form of pink noise for setting up an EQ though.
Yes, it is far superior in my view. The fact that I can have two boxes in different rooms, connected by wifi only, and able to play recordings on the other box, is fantastic. It is lightning fast and loads all the apps extremely quickly, with no buffering. The picture is superb and with twelve tuners (6 on each), recording clashes are a thing of the past.

I think we would have seen far more complaints if the V6 was not all it's cracked up to be and riddled with bugs. However, the fact is that the number of bugs is comparatively few and no big deal really, whereas some of us were ready to throw the old Tivos out of the window.

Sorry to hear yours is noisy; if it's bad enough to be disruptive, perhaps they will change it. As I said earlier, we can't hear ours, and one of them is in the bedroom, so if it made a noise it would be noticeable in the quiet of the night.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old Yesterday, 16:18   #212
mike_gain
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 305
mike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to behold
Re: Please document any V6 issues here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Yes, it is far superior in my view. The fact that I can have two boxes in different rooms, connected by wifi only, and able to play recordings on the other box, is fantastic. It is lightning fast and loads all the apps extremely quickly, with no buffering. The picture is superb and with twelve tuners (6 on each), recording clashes are a thing of the past.
You've pretty much described what I had in November 2012 with my legacy TiVos minus the extra tuners and the app loading speed.

I've perhaps muddied my point by highlighting what I'm not happy with.

But I'll re-iterate again; If I take a working legacy TiVo box and a working V6 and draw a comparison, ignoring any issues with either, I don't find the V6 far superior, it's a better experience but it should be the least we should expect. I see the V6 as a costly hardware solution to a software problem....but I'd still recommend it to anyone thinking of upgrading but more to get people onto an expected level of performance as opposed to take them to the next level of TV entertainment (and I'll fully acknowledge the former may be more than enough for most).

What I would concede is the performance is far superior to the legacy boxes as they are now but it's just frustrating they let the legacy boxes get so bad.
mike_gain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:27.


Server: niobium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.