Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Can't connect to dx27.net

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Can't connect to dx27.net
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-07-2017, 05:56   #1
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Can't connect to dx27.net

Hello,
I have a problem that started about 4 days ago, I live in the Leeds 16 area and have been with Virgin since the NTL days.
I use a site that has worked perfectly for the last 3 years, its www.dx27.net (212.85.114.132)
Now I am getting time out messages and I am unable to connect. I have tried 3 different browsers and 2 other computers with the same results.

If I use a proxy server such as UltraSurf no problem I can connect instantly.
I have logged the problem with Tech Support and they are looking in to it (Agent couldn't check the site himself through the Virgin servers)
Are Virgin blocking the site or is it just me?
Any help would be appreciated.
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-07-2017, 07:58   #2
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Don't know if it is a Virgin problem
Can any other forum member connect to dx27.net?

Tracing route to dx27.net [212.85.114.132]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 7 ms 6 ms 7 ms 10.216.68.1
3 7 ms 8 ms 9 ms leed-core-2a-xe-133-0.network.virginmedia.net [6
2.252.232.97]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 10 ms 14 ms 11 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254
.42.110]
7 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.250
.15.210]
8 23 ms 24 ms 24 ms linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.9
8]
9 30 ms 29 ms 35 ms ae-2.bb-c.nkf.ams.nl.oneandone.net [212.227.120.
133]
10 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms ae-6.bb-c.act.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.
130]
11 45 ms 45 ms 46 ms fra-de.xe-4-0-12.home.net.pl [212.227.112.81]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 *

Last edited by laserbill; 14-07-2017 at 08:00. Reason: missing text
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 10:44   #3
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,248
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

I can connect OK via VM.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>tracert dx27.net

Tracing route to dx27.net [212.85.114.132]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms routerlogin.net [192.168.0.1]
2 14 ms 11 ms 10 ms cpc2-bary4-2-0-gw.5-1.cable.virginm.net [80.3.24
.1]
3 9 ms 11 ms 10 ms cdif-core-2b-xe-213-0.network.virginmedia.net [6
2.252.57.141]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 14 ms 10 ms 12 ms tclo-ic-3-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.250
.25.62]
6 12 ms 19 ms 23 ms linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.9
8]
7 22 ms 11 ms 16 ms ae-0-0.bb-a.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [212.227.120
.105]
8 24 ms 27 ms 26 ms ae-11-0.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.
120.154]
9 45 ms 25 ms 27 ms ae-1.bb-c.act.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.
90]
10 49 ms 54 ms 84 ms fra-de.xe-4-0-12.home.net.pl [212.227.112.81]
11 47 ms 68 ms 43 ms cloudserver004704.home.net.pl [212.85.114.132]

Trace complete.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 11:59   #4
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Pip,
Thanks for taking the time to check it out.
Wonder why its stalling at the
fra-de.xe-4-0-12.home.net.pl [212.227.112.81] hop.
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 12:08   #5
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,113
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Works OK for me too. Could they have blocked you specifically for some sort of naughtiness?
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 12:19   #6
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Not that I know of. Been a member there for 3 years. I only post when I have talked to another radio free-band operator on 11 metres.
I Have been in touch with the Admin there and he's going to look into it this weekend.
Thanks for checking for me and have a great weekend
Bill
26WW10
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 12:26   #7
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,082
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Also works fine for me, definitely has all the signs of an IP block.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 13:19   #8
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Cheers Paul.
I reckon that's it. Not on a fixed IP so wonder if its possible to change it.

Thanks everybody
Bill
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 13:51   #9
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,309
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Quote:
Originally Posted by laserbill View Post
Cheers Paul.
I reckon that's it. Not on a fixed IP so wonder if its possible to change it.

Thanks everybody
Bill
Show your hub a different MAC address - if you have your own router and are in modem mode, you can usually just change the MAC address the router shows to the WAN - or just plug something different in.

If you're using the hub in router mode, switch it to modem mode and you'll get a new IP. Make sure you turn off the hub/router/etc. after making the change or it'll drop your connection entirely. I don't think there's a way to force a new IP on a hub in router mode.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 14:14   #10
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Thanks Kushan,
What a great site this is!
Will give it a go
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 15:16   #11
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,550
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

..or just get the IP ban fixed if it's not warranted.
Returning to router mode, if you require wifi access, will likely lead to you getting the banned IP back.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2017, 15:46   #12
laserbill
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
laserbill is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can't connect to dx27.net

Good point Robbo,
Have mailed the admin at dx27.net
laserbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:18.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.