Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What broadband will I be able to get?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

What broadband will I be able to get?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2017, 20:47   #1
jay152
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
jay152 is on a distinguished roadjay152 is on a distinguished road
What broadband will I be able to get?

Hi everyone quick question virgin are rolling out the ducting to my street on 11.10.17.

I've been checking a few postcodes 10 mins drive that were done 3 months ago with the brand new wiring and fttp type install on the virgin media website and it says they can only get up to vivid 200.

Why is this if it's the latest cabinets and fibre etc etc?

Also anyone any idea what I will be offered as in vivid 200 or 300?

Thanks in advance all.
jay152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-10-2017, 22:52   #2
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,970
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

200Mb. It's dependent on what's available at the hub site rather than your node specifically. I'm on a brand new build as well, and it's restricted to 200Mb due to restrictions at the hubsite that feeds both FTTP and normal hybrid network.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 07:15   #3
jay152
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
jay152 is on a distinguished roadjay152 is on a distinguished road
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Morning thanks for reply is there anyone able to tell me what I would be able to expect then in terms of speed once the process starts in a weeks time is it postcode dependent etc etc?

Also if it is 200 how long is it until it goes to the full 350?

Cheers ��

---------- Post added at 07:15 ---------- Previous post was at 07:14 ----------

They are building a very large new cabinet and a smaller size done at the bottom of my street to feed my area if that Helps?

Looks like more than double the size of a traditional cabinet
jay152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 20:08   #4
DJSADERS
Ex - McNicholas Guildford
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Age: 26
Services: XL TV, 2 X 1TB Cisco TiVo, 152MB BB (SHUB3), XL Phone
Posts: 306
DJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of lightDJSADERS is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to DJSADERS
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Thats just a node, which talks back to the headend (a real building located in a town near to you) this is where the restriction will be on speed
__________________
Ex - McNicholas - Virgin Media Install Tech - Guildford (Area Ref: 26)
(All views are my own )
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5311285059
DJSADERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 19:27   #5
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,161
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay152 View Post
Hi everyone quick question virgin are rolling out the ducting to my street on 11.10.17.

I've been checking a few postcodes 10 mins drive that were done 3 months ago with the brand new wiring and fttp type install on the virgin media website and it says they can only get up to vivid 200.

Why is this if it's the latest cabinets and fibre etc etc?

Also anyone any idea what I will be offered as in vivid 200 or 300?

Thanks in advance all.
I wouldn't get your hopes up too high, i'm currently on 200Mb, but am only getting just under 56Mb after checking via the Cableforum speed test!
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 09:28   #6
JordanTheToaster
I Toast Bread
 
JordanTheToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bath
Age: 20
Services: Vivid 350?
Posts: 224
JordanTheToaster is on a distinguished roadJordanTheToaster is on a distinguished road
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

The think broadband test is pretty bad compared to others like DSLReports test.
__________________
JordanTheToaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 15:48   #7
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,177
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

is 200 not enough?
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 15:57   #8
JordanTheToaster
I Toast Bread
 
JordanTheToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bath
Age: 20
Services: Vivid 350?
Posts: 224
JordanTheToaster is on a distinguished roadJordanTheToaster is on a distinguished road
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Not until we have at least 500 and 50 I won't consider it enough.
__________________
JordanTheToaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 16:06   #9
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,309
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Gigabit symmetrical is my "enough" boundary.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 16:13   #10
JordanTheToaster
I Toast Bread
 
JordanTheToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bath
Age: 20
Services: Vivid 350?
Posts: 224
JordanTheToaster is on a distinguished roadJordanTheToaster is on a distinguished road
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

I'm shooting low because I'd expect at least 500 to be "affordable" within 5 years time
__________________
JordanTheToaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 17:06   #11
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,970
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

200 is plenty but more is always a bonus. No-one 'needs' more right now.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 02:08   #12
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,161
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JordanTheToaster View Post
The think broadband test is pretty bad compared to others like DSLReports test.
Well, at 2am in the morning Think Broadband says download speed is 20.6, DSL says 12.12!

I'm on WiFi, but this still seems abysmal. I've read that people have been able to get a discount for poor speeds from VM.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 02:48   #13
JordanTheToaster
I Toast Bread
 
JordanTheToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bath
Age: 20
Services: Vivid 350?
Posts: 224
JordanTheToaster is on a distinguished roadJordanTheToaster is on a distinguished road
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Well you really should be doing it over Ethernet kinda unfair to do it over wifi.
__________________
JordanTheToaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 07:30   #14
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,177
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Well, at 2am in the morning Think Broadband says download speed is 20.6, DSL says 12.12!

I'm on WiFi, but this still seems abysmal. I've read that people have been able to get a discount for poor speeds from VM.
Not for wifi
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 09:19   #15
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Mythica will become famous soon enoughMythica will become famous soon enoughMythica will become famous soon enough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
Not for wifi
If was getting poor speeds over wifi I'd still expect discount if the fault was oversubscription. I get 200Mb+ on WiFi at peak times.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:57.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.