Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-08-2017, 18:33   #5671
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,237
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I agree with Jon22. The Hub 3 issues have been woefully over-dramatized, imo.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 16-08-2017, 10:35   #5672
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,338
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
I agree with Jon22. The Hub 3 issues have been woefully over-dramatized, imo.
Thirded, having used the hub 3 for months now I can honestly say it has never once affected anything latency sensitive for me.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 14:43   #5673
Travelstar
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 84
Travelstar is on a distinguished roadTravelstar is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
I agree with Jon22. The Hub 3 issues have been woefully over-dramatized, imo.
I need to do a little more testing, but initial results since going from 8 to 20 downstream channels does suggest increased latency. I've only managed to do some remote testing so far, but will do a little more in a few days time.
Travelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2017, 01:29   #5674
buckleb
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sawbridgeworth
Services: Vivid 200 Tivo 500GB
Posts: 362
buckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I get this quite a lot, though it doesn't seem to have any adverse effect on my connection.



The more annoying, and more recent issue, is one of my connection dropping to 50MB max until I reboot.
buckleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2017, 08:56   #5675
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,237
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckleb View Post
I get this quite a lot, though it doesn't seem to have any adverse effect on my connection.



The more annoying, and more recent issue, is one of my connection dropping to 50MB max until I reboot.
Is that using a Superhub 1?
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2017, 10:58   #5676
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 279
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Been getting brief connection drops for the last couple mornings (early hours). Each time the latency has reduced, which is nice. Guessing it must be some form of maintenance? Not had any changes to the number of downstream channels. Upstream is still 2x 16QAM, although the bonded pair do change.

Saturday


Sunday (today)
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2017, 18:48   #5677
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 279
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Turns out that there was a fault, connection went off a few times just before lunch.
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2017, 15:01   #5678
buckleb
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sawbridgeworth
Services: Vivid 200 Tivo 500GB
Posts: 362
buckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of lightbuckleb is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
Is that using a Superhub 1?
Sorry, bit of a late reply, but no, it's a Superhub 2

The spikes do go away, but then return looking just as they did before.

Here's yesterdays:



The SH2 is in modem mode with an Archer C9 router sitting behind it. My first thoughts were that this is some kind of cloud-storage synching, but I don't have anything running at the early-morning times shown in the graph.
buckleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2017, 10:52   #5679
thedotlair
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
thedotlair is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)



Virgin Business Voom 3 with 5 static option (Voom 3). Not using the Hitron apart from as a modem, PFSense handles the rest of the network
thedotlair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 00:07   #5680
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,559
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Thirded, having used the hub 3 for months now I can honestly say it has never once affected anything latency sensitive for me.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 00:16   #5681
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,338
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

TBB graph aside :P
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 23:19   #5682
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,559
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

we'll see how the pings go on Tuesday
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 16:29   #5683
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,601
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Yesterday vs today

Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 17:17   #5684
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 565
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Still looking awful here

Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 18:56   #5685
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,237
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I agree with Jon22. My bufferbloat tests between the two devices using an Asus router show the same differences.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:54.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.