Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-10-2013, 16:23   #4201
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

yeah average is up slightly, spikes are noticebly higher tho so when it does spike it will be more of a jolt if you gaming etc.

cause could be something like a docsis reconfiguration thats bumped up buffer bloat or something like higher utilisation.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 20-10-2013, 22:18   #4202
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

The yellow bit, being the least important aspect of the graph, reminds me of the days that happened practically whenever someone started a torrent
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2013, 08:47   #4203
kev445
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 56
kev445 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Having some issues in Plymouth, I'm in the PL6 area.
I've only lived in this area for a month or so, performance does vary.

I managed to change my upstream channel yesterday evening, as I wasn't able to stream anything through the ROKU...
You can clearly see where the upstream change happened, although it improved things, I was only achieving about a 30Mb download speed on a 100Mb connection. Streaming and web-surfing however worked fine...

kev445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2013, 09:22   #4204
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Definitely an improvement but I'm not willing to say "fixed" just yet. How about some modem stats and we'll see if anything is amiss?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2013, 17:04   #4205
db133
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 201
db133 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Brighton:

db133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 09:26   #4206
Firmsky
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ipswich
Services: Sky HD+ x 2, Family pack, Sky Fibre Pro.
Posts: 393
Firmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant future
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Surprised Virgin are claiming nothing was wrong that affected us all in East Anglia!
Firmsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 09:35   #4207
db133
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 201
db133 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firmsky View Post
Surprised Virgin are calming nothing was wrong that affected us all in East Anglia!
Just shows their contempt !
db133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 10:18   #4208
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firmsky View Post
Surprised Virgin are calming nothing was wrong that affected us all in East Anglia!
Can you point me to the relevant thread in the VM forum please?
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 10:36   #4209
Firmsky
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ipswich
Services: Sky HD+ x 2, Family pack, Sky Fibre Pro.
Posts: 393
Firmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant future
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
Can you point me to the relevant thread in the VM forum please?
Thanks Seph

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/...2030424#M31267
Firmsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 11:26   #4210
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,225
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I've now seen Ralph's report. It seems they're saying that as things are OK now, it'll be hard to squeeze anything out of networks to say what happened.

I didn't quite read it as "nothing wrong". More like a mystery to Ralph but networks know what it was!
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 11:30   #4211
Firmsky
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ipswich
Services: Sky HD+ x 2, Family pack, Sky Fibre Pro.
Posts: 393
Firmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant futureFirmsky has a brilliant future
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
I've now seen Ralph's report. It seems they're saying that as things are OK now, it'll be hard to squeeze anything out of networks to say what happened.

I didn't quite read it as "nothing wrong". More like a mystery to Ralph but networks know what it was!
Wonder if it was a case of someone unplugging a switch to charge their phone and forgot to switch it back on or similar!
Firmsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 13:07   #4212
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

As much as I like those sorts of jokes myself, I should point out that switches and phones use completely different power plugs, you can't shove a phone charger in a switchs' power outlet. At least not if your datacentre is wired properly.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 15:33   #4213
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Depends on the switch. Would it be THAT surprising for Virgin to be using a bog standard TP-link gigabit switch somewhere? :P
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2013, 17:59   #4214
telfordcable
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,268
telfordcable has disabled reputation
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

telfordcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 11:40   #4215
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Depends on the switch. Would it be THAT surprising for Virgin to be using a bog standard TP-link gigabit switch somewhere? :P
To be honest, incompetent as VM can be, yes that would be surprising. They seem like a company more inclined to leave things broken than to apply quick and dirty fixes.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.