Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2017, 19:11   #1
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Got back from the cinema just before 5 to find my wan connection was down. After a right flipping faff i managed to load my tbb graph on my phone and it had only just gone down. I signed into my VM for it to run the tests and came back as "we think your equipment might be switched off" and there were no known issues. I rang 150 and went through the disconnect/reconnect power (which i had already done) and he said a network fault had just been raised for noise in my area and it can take up to 5 days to fix. I thought he was fobbing me off but i have rang the service status number and it does say there is an issue in my area which they are doing their best to fix. Interestingly though if you go to the service status page it says everything is fine.
The shub just keeps rebooting and i end up with a solid blue tick and a solid red up and down arrow before it reboots and starts flashing again.

While i have been typing this out it has come back up. Downsteam power levels and snr is fine but both upstream channels are 47.5 and one of them has dropped down to qam16.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-07-2017, 20:25   #2
Khenryashley
Freedom for smokers
 
Khenryashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Republic of Mancunia
Services: VM. 2 boxes ( 1 x TiVo 1tb . 1 x v+ HD) Talk unlimited. 100Mb Apple tv, Fire Tv
Posts: 208
Khenryashley is a jewel in the roughKhenryashley is a jewel in the roughKhenryashley is a jewel in the roughKhenryashley is a jewel in the roughKhenryashley is a jewel in the rough
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Thats Strange.I'm in area 20 Manchester and I've had exactly the same problem.
My broadband has been on for a couple of hours and then down for 8 to ten hours. This has been happening since Friday evening.
Ive been told there is a network fault due to raised noise in my area and it can take up to 7 days to fix and I should expect regular broadband outage for the next 7 days.

I have no understating of what raised noise on the network means. I'm sure one of the intelligent members will let us know.
Khenryashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 22:08   #3
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

interesting. Maybe there is a more serious problem higher up the network because the dude on the phone said it was a serious issue.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 23:51   #4
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,227
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

No issues here (North Nottingham).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 00:16   #5
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

something dodgy is going on. All I have got is a page full of these in my network log: Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC

__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 10:16   #6
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,462
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Nothing showing down here on the south coast.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 11:19   #7
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
No issues here (North Nottingham).
interesting, I always assumed Nottingham was a big trunk feeding into VM's backbone because my traffic always goes through Nottingham

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.246.95]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms RT-AC68U-B930 [18.19.1.1]
2 9 ms 8 ms 7 ms 10.33.88.1 local cmts
3 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms nott-core-2b-xe-130-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.214.173]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * 25 ms 24 ms nrth-bb-1c-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.134]
6 27 ms 19 ms 33 ms tele-ic-4-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.18]
7 17 ms 15 ms 22 ms pos6-1.rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.237]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 24 ms 23 ms 21 ms ae0.er02.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.90]
10 28 ms 27 ms 54 ms 132.185.255.165
11 22 ms 20 ms 20 ms bbc-vip016.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [212.58.246.95]

Trace complete.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 14:05   #8
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,227
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Yep, I believe Lincoln & Mansfield traffic both pass through Nottingham.

That trace looks fine.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 00:25   #9
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Well I haven't lost my connection since it came back last night. I was hoping they were going to do something to fix it today and I would get a random reboot. I rebooted myself earlier and locked onto the same downstream and upstream channels again, it came back up first time and my upstream channels are still 47.5. The only good thing is that I am back on two QAM64s.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 12:06   #10
2pence
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Slough, Berkshire
Services: VIVID 350 Fibre + Virgin Mobile VIP Unlimited Everything
Posts: 38
2pence is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Down here in Slough the internet went dead a few times in the early hours, like 4am this morning and eventually the hub light started flashing. Few minutes later everything seemed to be back to normal.
__________________
Hub 3.0: 9.1.116V, Router Mode | VIVID 350/20
2pence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 12:12   #11
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Sweet, i'll go and check mine.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 13:54   #12
GazCBG
cf.mega poster
 
GazCBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln
Age: 41
Services: 200Mb (Superhub v3) | TV: 2x TiVo on XL | Phone
Posts: 1,005
GazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the rough
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

Mine going up and down like a yoyo since 9am in North Hykeham near The Forum.
__________________
Intel Core i5-7500 // Gigabyte GA-B250-HD3P // EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW // 16GB HyperX (2x8GB) 2400MHz DDR4 // 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD // 3x 2TB Toshiba P300
GazCBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 14:23   #13
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

it just gets weirder and weirder. My connection has been up since I rebooted last night. It isn't perfect but I have been able to get 23MB down and 1 up all morning
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 15:11   #14
GazCBG
cf.mega poster
 
GazCBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln
Age: 41
Services: 200Mb (Superhub v3) | TV: 2x TiVo on XL | Phone
Posts: 1,005
GazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the rough
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

It been back up for about 30 mins now.
I read on VM tweets they had a fire in one of the main cabinets for the area, so not sure, if I was affected by this.

Had on the status page a fix by 6pm today, the around launch time in disappeared, but the phone line said there was still issues and still does.
Both my upstream channels are at 16 qam instead of 64 qam

__________________
Intel Core i5-7500 // Gigabyte GA-B250-HD3P // EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW // 16GB HyperX (2x8GB) 2400MHz DDR4 // 250GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD // 3x 2TB Toshiba P300
GazCBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 17:39   #15
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,512
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else having problems in Lincoln?

I'll keep my eyes peeled at 1800 for a reboot but I haven't been experiencing the same issues as you today so I am not expecting mine to be fixed. The only problem I have got atm is that my two upstreams are 47.5 and normally they are 42.5, that being said though, it isn't affecting the stability of my connection or speed atm.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:45.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.