Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | recent renovation - LNB and magic eye not working

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Sky TV, Sky+ & Sky Q

recent renovation - LNB and magic eye not working

Old 08-01-2012, 23:00   #1
dejavuagain
Inactive

dejavuagain is an unknown quantity at this point
Red face recent renovation - LNB and magic eye not working

Sorry in advance as I am a novice at this and don't know all the correct terms.

We have just finished renovating which included all new wiring. We have gone for a centralised media cupboard on the ground floor.

problem 1 - Only 2 of 8 lines on octo-lnb are working - we have an octo-lnb which we have had for 2 years. Previousily, we only used 2 lines of the octo-lnb. In the renovation, we had 8 coax lines run from the dish to the media cupboard. I am only able to get 2 of 8 lines working. Is is possible to have a fault in the LNB? As the dish is on the top of 3 story house, troubleshooting directly with the dish is a bit limited.

I splurged and got an F-connector compression tool to put ends on all the wires. Rather than pull the copper braid back, I cut it flush with the insulator before installing the compression f-connectors. Could that be the problem?

problem 2 - Magic Eye is not working - In efforts to quickly get sky going, I did the following ---

In media cupboard on ground floor