Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | do virgin block p2p programmes?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Do ntl block voip ports?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-01-2009, 17:33   #1
handyman
cf.mega poster
 
handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nr Carnforth
Age: 42
Services: M6 Keele
Posts: 5,456
handyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny star
handyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny star
Send a message via MSN to handyman
Do ntl block voip ports?

We are configuring voip for a remote worker that uses a Virgin CM and having some problems. She is in Leamington which from memory makes her ex-ntl (Langley)

Do you know if any of the following ports are restricted in any way on ntl?

IAX - 4569 UDP

SIP - 5060, 5061,5064,5065 tcp/UDP

RTP - 16384-16482 UDP

STUN - 8000-8006 TCP/UDP

Protocol 47GRE

Many thanks if you are able to answer this

Mark
handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 31-01-2009, 00:04   #2
Milambar
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 954
Milambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond reputeMilambar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

I believe that VM claim they don't block any ports (I have suspicions to the contary, but thats the official line).
Milambar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2009, 00:12   #3
kpanchev
Inactive
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Farnborough, Hampshire
Age: 46
Services: BB L package
Posts: 175
kpanchev will become famous soon enoughkpanchev will become famous soon enoughkpanchev will become famous soon enough
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

I cannot say anything for the IAX ports, because I don't use them, but the others are not blocked. Also I'm 99.99% sure that Virgin (NTL) do not block any ports, they just trottle the overall speed.
kpanchev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2009, 02:35   #4
Graham M
-
 
Graham M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Poole, Dorset
Age: 32
Services: FreeSat+ Tivo V-Box VM 60MBit
Posts: 13,378
Graham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny stars
Graham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny starsGraham M has a pair of shiny stars
Send a message via MSN to Graham M Send a message via Yahoo to Graham M
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

I use a Polycom VOIP phone on a daily basis and it works fine?
__________________
Desktop: Intel i7 SandyBridge 2600k 3.4GHz @ 4.7GHz - 8GB DDR3 - ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB - OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD
Graham M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 13:49   #5
Zhadnost
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Services: XXL Broadband, Phone
Posts: 604
Zhadnost is just really niceZhadnost is just really niceZhadnost is just really niceZhadnost is just really niceZhadnost is just really niceZhadnost is just really nice
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

I use IAX2 and SIP on a daily basis without trouble.
Zhadnost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 14:02   #6
brundles
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,266
brundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of societybrundles is a pillar of society
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

I'm not aware of them blocking any ports (been using VOIP for a few years now as primary line) but I'm assuming that as a remote worker it'd be hooked up over a VPN making the ports irrelevant wouldn't it?
brundles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 14:38   #7
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,283
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

VM used to block about 5 ports, no idea if they still do - but none of them are the ones listed above (they were ones being used by some old windows worms).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 15:06   #8
handyman
cf.mega poster
 
handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nr Carnforth
Age: 42
Services: M6 Keele
Posts: 5,456
handyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny star
handyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny starhandyman has a nice shiny star
Send a message via MSN to handyman
Re: Do ntl block voip ports?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brundles View Post
I'm not aware of them blocking any ports (been using VOIP for a few years now as primary line) but I'm assuming that as a remote worker it'd be hooked up over a VPN making the ports irrelevant wouldn't it?
Thought about this and wondered if that might work then remembered that we are using an IAX gateway plugged directly into the router so it's seperate from the VPN.
handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:16.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.