Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Can't wire Internet in my room

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

Can't wire Internet in my room
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-06-2011, 16:59   #16
adzii_nufc
Rafalution
 
adzii_nufc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle
Age: 27
Posts: 4,514
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
Re: Can't wire Internet in my room

Well its more of where he wants the superhub. If he does not mind it being downstairs then the above answer is a simple solution.

Regardless of where he wants it your looking at roughly a similar price for a coax option or an ethernet option. Both are relatively cheap and simple.
__________________
AMD FX 9590 5GHz - 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro Silver - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z - XFX Radeon R9 295X2 Hydra Edition
adzii_nufc is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 30-06-2011, 17:11   #17
Dai
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lincoln UK
Age: 69
Services: 50Mb, TV & Phone
Posts: 3,673
Dai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronze
Dai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronzeDai is cast in bronze
Send a message via MSN to Dai
Re: Can't wire Internet in my room

Agreed, but isn't it frowned upon for users to extend the coax side? I thought that could affect power levels and suchlike.
Dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2011, 17:20   #18
Kymmy
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 18,444
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Kymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny starsKymmy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Can't wire Internet in my room

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaiNasty View Post
Agreed, but isn't it frowned upon for users to extend the coax side? I thought that could affect power levels and suchlike.
It can do and in Marginal signal situations can effect the service.. If for short distances (less than 10m) it's normally fine but the attenuation can be problematic on longer runs
Kymmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2011, 23:35   #19
scotmac
cf.addict
 
scotmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glasgow
Age: 64
Services: XL Tv 2 x V6 1 TB TiVo 200 Broadband XL phone
Posts: 156
scotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of lightscotmac is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Can't wire Internet in my room

I have a 3 story house , when I got cable installed (a few year ago ie. cabletel ) they ran cable into lounge for main box also up the building into top front bedroom then up the room wall into loft ,across loft and into top rear bedroom without any complaints. Perhaps this was when tradesmen took pride in their work not like today.
scotmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:47.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.