Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > General Discussion > Science & Technology

Some BBC channels dead on Freesat
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-05-2017, 13:56   #1
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Possibly also affecting Sky.

I am missing BBC One Scotland HD, BBC2 HD, BBC Four HD, CBBC HD, CBeebies HD and BBC News HD.

These don't all appear to be on the same Mux so I'm wondering if it's an uplink problem rather than the satellite? I don't know, I'm guessing, not being an expert. Anyone got any info?
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-05-2017, 19:27   #2
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Not sure what is happening but my channels on Freesat are all ok in Rutherglen
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2017, 21:45   #3
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Thanks Nash that's very helpful. Guess I need to try to factory reset my box.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2017, 23:36   #4
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Thanks Nash that's very helpful. Guess I need to try to factory reset my box.
Cheers
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 08:09   #5
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

One factory reset and all my BBC HD channels are back. Weird.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 11:07   #6
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
One factory reset and all my BBC HD channels are back. Weird.
Glad to hear you have your channels back
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 20:05   #7
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

They disappeared again this evening. I think my box is dying. I think it's 6-7 years old so I can't complain I suppose.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 20:53   #8
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

I have had my box for quite a while too, I was thinking of upgrading my box to one that has catch up etc, I noticed that Freesat were giving 15% discount but not sure if the offer is still on, Let me know if you get one,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 20:57   #9
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 44,359
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
They disappeared again this evening. I think my box is dying. I think it's 6-7 years old so I can't complain I suppose.
6 to 7 years is pretty good as the average is about 5.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 23:29   #10
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
I have had my box for quite a while too, I was thinking of upgrading my box to one that has catch up etc, I noticed that Freesat were giving 15% discount but not sure if the offer is still on, Let me know if you get one,
I have my eye on a Humax HDR 1100S which has a Terabyte hard drive (lots of storage for recording programmes) and has seven day catch up built in to the EPG, which means you can access iplayer content from the last week by looking at your programme guide. It's selling for £217 in most places at the moment.

To get the most out of a box that can record stuff you need two cables run from your satellite dish to your living room (although the box should perform reasonably well with just one).

I will see if my current box "loses" my BBC HD channels again between now and tomorrow evening, and if it does I will probably buy the Humax. The kids are starting to complain that they're coming in from school and the thing hasn't recorded stuff they wanted off CBBC HD.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2017, 11:22   #11
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

I did not realise you might need two cables, I thought it might be a matter of just changing boxes, Hear how you get on if you change,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2017, 11:33   #12
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 30,971
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Yes - a satellite box isn't like terrestrial freeview. You can't just split the cable and share the signal (well not exactly). For a box with two tuners to work correctly, each tuner needs its own cable, and each cable needs its own terminal on the LNB (the box attached to the arm on your satellite dish). It's an easy job for an installer, but unless you have a head for heights and you know what you're doing, you do need an installer to do it.

That said, any half decent Freesat HDR box should function with only one cable. It will however be slightly limited, and if you try to watch and record certain combinations of channels they won't work, because of the way the box needs to control the LNB.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2017, 15:09   #13
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Yes - a satellite box isn't like terrestrial freeview. You can't just split the cable and share the signal (well not exactly). For a box with two tuners to work correctly, each tuner needs its own cable, and each cable needs its own terminal on the LNB (the box attached to the arm on your satellite dish). It's an easy job for an installer, but unless you have a head for heights and you know what you're doing, you do need an installer to do it.

That said, any half decent Freesat HDR box should function with only one cable. It will however be slightly limited, and if you try to watch and record certain combinations of channels they won't work, because of the way the box needs to control the LNB.
Think I will stick with my old box for awhile. I would not like to pay for a box that doesn't do what I want it to do.
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2017, 17:41   #14
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,375
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
Think I will stick with my old box for awhile. I would not like to pay for a box that doesn't do what I want it to do.
If it aint broke, don't fix it.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2017, 18:50   #15
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 3,451
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Some BBC channels dead on Freesat

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
If it aint broke, don't fix it.
So True
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.