Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VIP now with Vivid 300

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

VIP now with Vivid 300
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2017, 08:30   #31
SimonB79
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 84
SimonB79 will become famous soon enoughSimonB79 will become famous soon enoughSimonB79 will become famous soon enough
Smile Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by JordanTheToaster View Post
So much dose 350 cost?
I'm paying 55.25p for vivid300 per month and I'd assume vivid350 is an automatic upgrade when available!

---------- Post added at 08:30 ---------- Previous post was at 08:27 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
Can 350 work on a sh2?
SH3 only I'd imagine like vivid300!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-08-2017, 15:40   #32
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 537
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
sweet, I am keeping my fingers crossed for next week
What's happening next week?

If 300 is getting a free boost to 350, surely 200 will see the same to 250.
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 16:01   #33
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB V+ STB
Posts: 3,985
nomadking has reached the bronze age
nomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze age
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
What's happening next week?

If 300 is getting a free boost to 350, surely 200 will see the same to 250.
What is "Max Traffic Rate 230000000 bps"(from my modem operation configuration) classed as in Mbps? Is that already more than 200Mbps? 200Mbps or 300Mbps will be the package rate. Over time all of the people in a particular package with get the improved rate, and only then can the name of the package change, eg VIVID 300 to VIVID 350. So it may be called VIVID 200 or VIVID 300, but the actual speed is higher for those with the upgrade.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 16:21   #34
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 537
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
What is "Max Traffic Rate 230000000 bps"(from my modem operation configuration) classed as in Mbps? Is that already more than 200Mbps? 200Mbps or 300Mbps will be the package rate. Over time all of the people in a particular package with get the improved rate, and only then can the name of the package change, eg VIVID 300 to VIVID 350. So it may be called VIVID 200 or VIVID 300, but the actual speed is higher for those with the upgrade.
It's always been 230, to account for overheads etc but that's still the 200Mbps package.

At a guess I'd say 250 would be provisioned at about 280
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 16:21   #35
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
What is "Max Traffic Rate 230000000 bps"(from my modem operation configuration) classed as in Mbps? Is that already more than 200Mbps? 200Mbps or 300Mbps will be the package rate. Over time all of the people in a particular package with get the improved rate, and only then can the name of the package change, eg VIVID 300 to VIVID 350. So it may be called VIVID 200 or VIVID 300, but the actual speed is higher for those with the upgrade.
Your 230000000 bps is literally about 224Mbps, but Virgin always over-provisions by 10-15% due to advertising regulations (Virgin can't advertise 200Mbit if people can't get it) - it's the same reason that VDSL services are usually advertised as up to 76Mbps when they can go past 80Mbps.

In any case, you're on the 200Mbit tier. If it went up to 250Mbit, the traffic rate would probably be something like 295000000 bps. I believe the 350Mbit service is serviced at nearly 400000000 bps.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 16:57   #36
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,406
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
What's happening next week?
I get paid
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 20:08   #37
devilincarnate
Still REIGNING
 
devilincarnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hell
Age: 41
Posts: 5,909
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Capture.PNG
__________________
So scatter all my ashes when I'm dead
And shatter every legend in my head
If only the committed will survive...
Is anybody here still left alive!?
devilincarnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 20:12   #38
devilincarnate
Still REIGNING
 
devilincarnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hell
Age: 41
Posts: 5,909
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
devilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny stardevilincarnate has a nice shiny star
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6529249959
__________________
So scatter all my ashes when I'm dead
And shatter every legend in my head
If only the committed will survive...
Is anybody here still left alive!?
devilincarnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 20:16   #39
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

All right, I'm going to say it: I am getting bored of increased download speeds.

100, 200, 300 or 350mbit...it's all the same really. When we were back in the days of sub-mbit speeds, each little increase was exciting but now that we're in triple digits, I feel the return is getting less and less.

What I'm interested in seeing is better upload speeds. 20Mbit still feels archaic, of course I understand the technical reasons why but it would be nice for Virgin to start pushing more here. Back to the 10:1 they used to have, for starters.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 09:10   #40
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,406
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

yeah I was thinking about that the other day. When 350mbits is provisioned at 389 you had might as well round it up to 400 and say it is 20:1.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 13:13   #41
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 683
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Your 230000000 bps is literally about 224Mbps, but Virgin always over-provisions by 10-15% due to advertising regulations (Virgin can't advertise 200Mbit if people can't get it) - it's the same reason that VDSL services are usually advertised as up to 76Mbps when they can go past 80Mbps.

In any case, you're on the 200Mbit tier. If it went up to 250Mbit, the traffic rate would probably be something like 295000000 bps. I believe the 350Mbit service is serviced at nearly 400000000 bps.
350 Mb/s business has been available for a while and is provisioned at 400,000,000, I'd expect residential to be similar.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 16:22   #42
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

It looks as though it's slightly more than 400000000 bps.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 09:22   #43
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,967
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
What I'm interested in seeing is better upload speeds. 20Mbit still feels archaic, of course I understand the technical reasons why but it would be nice for Virgin to start pushing more here. Back to the 10:1 they used to have, for starters.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 09:33   #44
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,303
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

Don't tease :P
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 09:48   #45
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 200mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,406
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: VIP now with Vivid 300

I hate to disappoint

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
There are no plans to get all tiers onto 10:1 ratios, but some of them it's certainly doable.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.