Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media V6 - Powered by TiVo(new STB)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin Media V6 - Powered by TiVo(new STB)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2016, 15:00   #61
toady
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Herts
Services: A mix of XXL and XL
Posts: 624
toady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud of
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horizon View Post
When we all last spoke about copyright and cloud related issues, I suggested back then that what VM might do is pull a sneaky and not really offer PVR cloud recording options at all. Rather, it would just be their current VOD/streaming services "repackaged" as being your own personal recordings.
That would be rubbish as not all content on the channels is available through VOD/Streaming. How would I record content that isn't available on VOD to watch later?
toady is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 12-05-2016, 15:21   #62
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,518
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1andrew1 View Post
Interesting, just had a peek. Comcast X1 looks good. Interestingly, it offers 500Gb of storage so less capacity than Sky Q's 2Tb. (Not that this has a bearing on how much storage LGI will provide but an interesting benchmark.)
http://www.xfinity.com/x1a
They are both playing to their strengths , the two way system of cable makes the cloud more logical in comparison to a competitor like Sky who relies on its customers having a broadband connection to access On Demand. Sky's customer base also have varying broadband speeds anything from 1mb to 1gb with the lower speeds not being ideal for such an implementation.

Sky uses satellite to deliver the tv to the master box with the mini's and ipad using either powerline , WiFi or ethernet to distribute everything around the house.

Both systems have pros and cons and I'm sure both systems will have a few years road map of innovation delivering even more going forward.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 22:38   #63
Arthurgray50@blu
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,571
Arthurgray50@blu has disabled reputation
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

So the big question is going to be. How much ? and are VM going to replace the existing boxes
Arthurgray50@blu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 22:51   #64
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,808
1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
They are both playing to their strengths
Totally agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthurgray50@blu View Post
So the big question is going to be. How much ? and are VM going to replace the existing boxes
That's two big questions, not one. 1. TBA. VM probably doesn't even know yet. 2. Can't see this happening due to the vast cost involved but it's possible it would be the default box for a new top subscription tier.
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2016, 09:55   #65
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,808
1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Broadband TV News have written up the Investor Q&A about the Eos box. Not really any additional information there than Horizon's original transcript.
http://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2016/...across-europe/
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 14:41   #66
kirk1690
cf.addict
 
kirk1690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MOTHERWELL
Age: 54
Services: Tivo . Virgin 200 tvL. Virgin Landline, Sky HD variety pack movies and sport.
Posts: 323
kirk1690 has a spectacular aura about themkirk1690 has a spectacular aura about themkirk1690 has a spectacular aura about themkirk1690 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Whit !! A new platform ?? Would you "horizon" the football for me tonight son ? Na doesn't quite roll off the tongue
__________________
MOTHERWELL FC FOREVER
kirk1690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 14:59   #67
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,808
1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk1690 View Post
Whit !! A new platform ?? Would you "horizon" the football for me tonight son ? Na doesn't quite roll off the tongue
Don't worry just yet - the forthcoming box will have Tivo software on it. By the time its successor comes out, it will probably read your brain to discover what it should record! http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/04...rolled_drones/
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 00:43   #68
Jong1
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
Jong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Maybe it's just me, but this all feels like a panic reaction to Sky Q to me. Sounds like Virgin were caught on the hop and now need a placeholder to try and stop/slow defections.

Of course they have had alternate Tivo boxes available for several years and will have been "watching developments" but I see no sign this is part of a long planned move with a clear, independent vision behind it.

My expectations are very low. "Turn of the year" sounds like the most amount of time they were able to give themselves and still sound like they were vaguely "on the case", yet not so specific they are bound by it. I expect any full rollout to slip 6 months to a year. I hope I am wrong!
Jong1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 09:27   #69
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,808
1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jong1 View Post
Of course they have had alternate Tivo boxes available for several years and will have been "watching developments" but I see no sign this is part of a long planned move with a clear, independent vision behind it.
Interesting but slightly negative comments. Certainly the move to a unified box across Europe looks strategic. Whether VM had hoped to launch this with Horizon software originally but brought the launch forward and had to use TiVo software is some thing we don't know.
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 13:25   #70
Sugnid
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Services: Big Kahuna Package
Posts: 10
Sugnid is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

The only way that this box is going to take off or have any longevity is if VM sort out deals where they get the UHD channels from Sky/BT.

Anything less and it's not worth having.
Sugnid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 14:10   #71
Jong1
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
Jong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Yes, I agree with that. Having been with Virgin/Telewest/United Artists? for 28 years(!) I now expect to stick with Virgin for Broadband but abandon their TV service when I get setup for UHD (more for HDR/BT.2020 than 4K) later in the year.

(yep, Andrew, I am somewhat negative about Virgin's under investment in TV. Back in the day, cable offered the promise of a superior service all round than satellite. Reality has been something different . )
Jong1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 14:49   #72
passingbat
Streaming is for 'now'
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Services: Virgin 100 meg BB, Talk More Anytime Phone, Mix TV, V6.
Posts: 4,363
passingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronze
passingbat is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugnid View Post
The only way that this box is going to take off or have any longevity is if VM sort out deals where they get the UHD channels from Sky/BT.

Anything less and it's not worth having.
I expect that there will be more on offer than just 4K. 4K is still a very small proportion the total TV sets. If VM were relying purely of 4K viewers to 'sell' the new box, then they would end up being very disappointed with the 'sales'.
passingbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 19:14   #73
Jong1
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
Jong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Oh I'm sure, like Sky Q, it will have a slicker, more responsive interface, more tuners, will be the "hub" for the home able to play content on other TVs, via a small box and on tablets etc. too (subject to DRM!).

But, we shouldn't think that UHD means 4K. Although it will come with 4K, HDR will have a much bigger impact on most people's viewing, as it is just as impactful even with small screen sizes.
Jong1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 20:39   #74
passingbat
Streaming is for 'now'
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Services: Virgin 100 meg BB, Talk More Anytime Phone, Mix TV, V6.
Posts: 4,363
passingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronze
passingbat is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jong1 View Post
HDR will have a much bigger impact on most people's viewing, as it is just as impactful even with small screen sizes.
Quite agree; HDR will be good. For the size of TV most people will purchase, 4k will have little effect on PQ.

Do you know if Sky Q has HDR?
passingbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 23:37   #75
Jong1
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
Jong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enoughJong1 will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

They have publically been quoted saying it will be upgraded to support "HDMI 2" by firmware (don't think they specified 2.0a, but that may be an oversight). They have also been testing HDR. But nothing can be certain until the 4K service launches and they actually do the upgrade.
Jong1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:04.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.