Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media V6 - Powered by TiVo(new STB)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin Media V6 - Powered by TiVo(new STB)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2016, 12:34   #16
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,518
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Let's hope they improve the Horizon box and it's remote as both look seriously ugly.

A remote with a keyboard , tv email anyone.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-05-2016, 12:38   #17
pengedragon
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Services: Full House, Sky Sports, 1tb Tivo, Netflix, Spotify Premium, Now TV entertainment pack, 200 meg bb
Posts: 252
pengedragon will become famous soon enoughpengedragon will become famous soon enoughpengedragon will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
That will all change, he adds, beginning this week. The user interface will get an overhaul to make its menus slicker and more picture-based.
this week ?

interesting piece anyway, lets see where it leads
pengedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 12:40   #18
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 41,940
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
Let's hope they improve the Horizon box and it's remote as both look seriously ugly.

A remote with a keyboard , tv email anyone.
Now now MM behave yourself.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 13:20   #19
Gavin-D
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Services: Virgin Media TV XL Virgin Media Phone Line Virgin Media 150Mbps Broadband
Posts: 1,105
Gavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond reputeGavin-D has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

New 4K box launching later this year

http://www.techradar.com/news/televi...ampaign=buffer
Gavin-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 13:25   #20
toady
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Herts
Services: A mix of XXL and XL
Posts: 624
toady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud oftoady has much to be proud of
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

According to the latest article from Engadget today

http://www.engadget.com/2016/05/10/v...k-set-top-box/

"There will be a new set-top box coming later this year, and it will support Ultra High Definition video," a Virgin Media spokesperson told What HiFi. "Before that we will be updating the existing TiVO set-top box to make its menus slicker and more picture-based."
toady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 14:54   #21
passingbat
Streaming is for 'now'
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Services: Virgin 100 meg BB, Talk More Anytime Phone, Mix TV, V6.
Posts: 4,363
passingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronze
passingbat is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

I hope they slip one more new Tivo box in. Goodbye Whishlists when Horizon finally launches.

Is the current Horizon a 4k box? I don't think so (but can't be bothered to check ). If that is the case, then it is pointless making comparisons with the current Horizon box as it will be a new box for 4k.
passingbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 15:07   #22
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 41,940
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Well we shall see PB on what transpires in the coming 6 to 9 months.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 15:33   #23
mike_gain
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 307
mike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to beholdmike_gain is a splendid one to behold
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
Well we shall see PB on what transpires in the coming 6 to 9 months.
I'd say we'll get a software update for the existing TiVO platform before the Olympics. Then we'll get some sort of new TiVO platform, supporting 4K, the tail end of this year/ start of next year.

A move to Horizon will be a few years away.
mike_gain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 16:02   #24
passingbat
Streaming is for 'now'
 
passingbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Services: Virgin 100 meg BB, Talk More Anytime Phone, Mix TV, V6.
Posts: 4,363
passingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronzepassingbat is cast in bronze
passingbat is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_gain View Post
I'd say we'll get a software update for the existing TiVO platform before the Olympics. Then we'll get some sort of new TiVO platform, supporting 4K, the tail end of this year/ start of next year.

A move to Horizon will be a few years away.
I sincerely hope you are right; that's how the Telegraph article read to me.
passingbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 16:03   #25
Horizon
Media Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Essex
Services: Sky, Cable & Freeview
Posts: 1,919
Horizon has reached the bronze age
Horizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
Its not just a new STB but a new platform as well. I am betting it will be Horizon.
That's what I thought and said in the other thread, but someone said a few months ago that they were testing a new tivo.???

I find it hard to believe that Liberty would want one technology, its own, for all its cablecos except VM.

As a side note, Vodafone use TIVO for their cablecos.
__________________
Politics Forum: www.forumbox.co.uk
Horizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 16:23   #26
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,518
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horizon View Post
That's what I thought and said in the other thread, but someone said a few months ago that they were testing a new tivo.???

I find it hard to believe that Liberty would want one technology, its own, for all its cablecos except VM.

As a side note, Vodafone use TIVO for their cablecos.
You would also have to wonder why it would launch a new Tivo next year if the plan is to move to Horizon. The life cycle of a STB is generally at least 4-5 years.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 17:32   #27
Horizon
Media Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Essex
Services: Sky, Cable & Freeview
Posts: 1,919
Horizon has reached the bronze age
Horizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze ageHorizon has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

....that's exactly what I said too on the other thread.

The Horizon tech is no spring chicken in itself now. If VM were to move to it "in a few years", Liberty would by then be moving onto the next thing, so why bother?

As I said before, I reckon they'll update the current tivo to hopefully make it work better, but all new stuff will be on Horizon.
__________________
Politics Forum: www.forumbox.co.uk
Horizon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 17:41   #28
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House with Sky Cinema; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 4,099
OLD BOY has reached the bronze age
OLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze ageOLD BOY has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Well, who knows for sure? If a new all singing and dancing Horizon box is what they are planning, let's hope it is a 2MB!
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 18:08   #29
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,808
1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society1andrew1 is a pillar of society
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horizon View Post
As a side note, Vodafone use TIVO for their cablecos.
I believe that's just ONO Spain where Vodafone inherited the Tivo contract by acquiring ONO.

---------- Post added at 18:01 ---------- Previous post was at 17:56 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
You would also have to wonder why it would launch a new Tivo next year if the plan is to move to Horizon. The life cycle of a STB is generally at least 4-5 years.
There's infrastructure investment required to support Horizon which is already in place for Tivo. So maybe logical to introduce a new Tiivo now and in a few years' time introduce a new cloud-based solution in all territories.

---------- Post added at 18:08 ---------- Previous post was at 18:01 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
Let's hope they improve the Horizon box and it's remote as both look seriously ugly.

A remote with a keyboard , tv email anyone.
I hope they hire a designer for future boxes, although they manage to make it look a bit nicer in this guide. https://www.upc-cablecom.ch/content/...ser-manual.pdf
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 18:16   #30
kandinsky
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 96
kandinsky is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Media will launch a new set-top box

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Well, who knows for sure? If a new all singing and dancing Horizon box is what they are planning, let's hope it is a 2MB!
That will be just about enough space to record the little white dot on your TV at the end of the night.....

kandinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07.


Server: radium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.