Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-03-2017, 11:53   #5596
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 10,113
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
Cardiff too, was it nationwide?



And I'm still getting a very flaky connection in the mornings when I power up. VM sent me a letter 1st March apologising that the fault is still ongoing. And they will "contact me in a few days".... they haven't of course.
I know you want to turn your connection off every night, but why don't you put the hub on a timer so it comes on before you need to use it to give it chance to settle?

Why don't you move the modem so it doesn't need turning off?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 15-03-2017, 12:48   #5597
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,536
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
I know you want to turn your connection off every night, but why don't you put the hub on a timer so it comes on before you need to use it to give it chance to settle?

Why don't you move the modem so it doesn't need turning off?
Due to my Carer duties I have no idea what time I will be up, and moving the modem was quoted at a price I could not afford, plus the whole idea of having it in our bedroom is to stop the twins turning it on at stupid o'clock.

And I am not alone in having this fault, it's all over the country.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2017, 13:49   #5598
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 257
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
Due to my Carer duties I have no idea what time I will be up, and moving the modem was quoted at a price I could not afford, plus the whole idea of having it in our bedroom is to stop the twins turning it on at stupid o'clock.

And I am not alone in having this fault, it's all over the country.
Would it be less "hassle" to put the the Shub in modem mode and use a router that has parental controls? Can then set on/off times for clients without having to turn the Shub off overnight. I know Asus routers can do that.
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2017, 11:58   #5599
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,344
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I'm not sure why I'm getting these episodes of packet loss or apparent disconnection. The SH3 config file has not changed nor has the software version, so I am assuming a temporary or developing fault. Those latency spikes are not due to activity at this end either.

I see that others are getting similar issues. What is VM playing at?



__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-N66U

Last edited by roughbeast; 16-03-2017 at 12:04.
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2017, 12:45   #5600
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 538
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Looks like an issue further into the network with the amount of customers seeing the same thing.

Virgin still not even acknowledged this new round of random packet loss
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2017, 12:46   #5601
adduxi
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 368
adduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of lightadduxi is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

That TBB is pretty much similar to mine. I really don't know what is going on with VM. My other BT circuit TBB is fine.
adduxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2017, 03:32   #5602
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,344
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Just had this happen overnight. No config change, just a lengthy outage.

__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-N66U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2017, 21:38   #5603
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 10,113
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I went from 16 to 24 downstreams last night in CB24, i guess it was only locked onto a few channels between 2am and 4am looking at the graph.

__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 09:47   #5604
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,373
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Something odd happened early this morning:



My IP number hasn't changed but a small packet loss seems to have stopped and the latency improved a bit.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 11:33   #5605
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,309
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I wonder if the improved latency is a side-effect of things being knocked off the network.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 11:59   #5606
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 257
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Had a small outage earlier. Rang 150, automated message with "We are improving our network in your area". Oh good, perhaps being moved to a new CMTS. Anyway, connection has come back up but there's been no changes as far as I can tell. Oddly, there is two different CMTS MAC's in the network log. One a Cisco and the other a RiverDelta, which is the one that I think I'm still on. Not sure what's going on there.

Network Log
Date And Time Error Number Event Description
2017-04-20 10:17:50.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:18:45.00 82000900 B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:18:46.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:19:10.00 84000500 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:19:14.00 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:19:19.00 82000100 No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging opportunities received - T2 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:20:03.00 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:20:04.00 84020300 MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:a2:89:26:7d:61;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:20:17.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:21:21.00 68000100 DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:21:52.00 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:21:52.00 84020300 MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:23:08.00 68000100 DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:23:38.00 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:23:38.00 84020300 MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:23:51.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:24:10.00 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:24:10.00 84020300 MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:25:28.00 68000100 DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:0e:39:d2:28:01;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-04-20 10:26:09.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=00:30:b8:d0:be:56;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 15:16   #5607
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 257
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Connection went down again about 20 minutes ago. Back up and now on 20 downstream channels and 2 upstream. On a Cisco CMTS, presumably cBR-8?

Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 4.1 38.6 256 qam 17
2 323000000 4.8 38.6 256 qam 20
3 315000000 4.5 38.6 256 qam 19
4 307000000 4.5 38.6 256 qam 18
5 291000000 3.9 38.6 256 qam 16
6 283000000 4 38.9 256 qam 15
7 275000000 4 38.6 256 qam 14
8 267000000 4 38.6 256 qam 13
9 259000000 4 38.9 256 qam 12
10 251000000 4.1 38.6 256 qam 11
11 243000000 4.5 38.6 256 qam 10
12 235000000 4.8 38.9 256 qam 9
13 227000000 4.8 38.6 256 qam 8
14 219000000 4.8 38.9 256 qam 7
15 211000000 4.6 38.6 256 qam 6
16 203000000 5.1 38.9 256 qam 5
17 195000000 5.8 38.9 256 qam 4
18 187000000 6.4 38.9 256 qam 3
19 179000000 6.4 38.9 256 qam 2
20 171000000 6.6 38.9 256 qam 1
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 13:15   #5608
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 257
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Minimum latency seems to have reduced a bit since yesterday.



Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2017, 10:37   #5609
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,536
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

I was told that our "local fault" was cleared yesterday, but the situation hasn't changed for me..

Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2017, 11:26   #5610
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 538
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: Think Broadband Ping Monitor Results (POST YOURS)

Seemed to be an outage here last night, didn't get connection back until I rebooted the modem (router in modem mode).

Can't see any changes, same down / up channels etc

Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.