Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What broadband will I be able to get?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

What broadband will I be able to get?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2017, 10:51   #16
raging bull
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Services: Tivo - L TV/XL Phone /70Mb BB
Posts: 755
raging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond reputeraging bull has a reputation beyond repute
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

As I don't have a Gb lan card in my laptop, I rely on wifi at 5Ghz from my Asus router to get a regular 210Mb down/21Mb upload.
raging bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-10-2017, 12:07   #17
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,188
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
If was getting poor speeds over wifi I'd still expect discount if the fault was oversubscription. I get 200Mb+ on WiFi at peak times.
If fault was oversubscription the fault would also manifest itself over wired
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 13:40   #18
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 182
Mythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the rough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
If fault was oversubscription the fault would also manifest itself over wired
Of course it would, but the user was talking about WiFi which you said no to a refund.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 13:46   #19
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,339
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

ISP's do not support WiFi so only if the problem can be replicated with a wired connection.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 14:42   #20
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,332
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
Of course it would, but the user was talking about WiFi which you said no to a refund.
No refund if wifi is the cause of the slow speeds / oversubscription. Virgin is only responsible for what comes down the coax - if it's full speed up to the hub (and thus wired) then you're not entitled to any kind of discount.

The point is that a wifi test isn't enough to prove Virgin is responsible for the slow speeds. You must do a wired test.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 16:11   #21
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 182
Mythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the rough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
No refund if wifi is the cause of the slow speeds / oversubscription. Virgin is only responsible for what comes down the coax - if it's full speed up to the hub (and thus wired) then you're not entitled to any kind of discount.

The point is that a wifi test isn't enough to prove Virgin is responsible for the slow speeds. You must do a wired test.
That simply can't be true though. They offer a hub that can run WiFi, they offer a TV box that runs WiFi and even some customers don't have the technology to run wired speed tests and can reach full speeds of 200/300/350Mb. As the supplier they can't then just simply do nothing. I understand the limitations of WiFi but some people can't do a hard wired test. It's got to be said, I did mention oversubscription which would be VMs fault.

---------- Post added at 15:11 ---------- Previous post was at 15:09 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
ISP's do not support WiFi so only if the problem can be replicated with a wired connection.
I was simply pointing out when someone said no refund if on WiFi which isn't technically true.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 18:32   #22
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,382
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

I've called them and been given a one off gesture of goodwill because they said that there is a problem of "signal to noise ratio" in my area.

They are going to look into it and it should take about a week to sort out.

Don't know what this actually means, but should it improve connectivity, speed or both?
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 22:59   #23
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,504
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

both
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 15:08   #24
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,332
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
That simply can't be true though. They offer a hub that can run WiFi, they offer a TV box that runs WiFi and even some customers don't have the technology to run wired speed tests and can reach full speeds of 200/300/350Mb. As the supplier they can't then just simply do nothing. I understand the limitations of WiFi but some people can't do a hard wired test. It's got to be said, I did mention oversubscription which would be VMs fault..
Oversubscription on Virgin's own lines is Virgin's fault, but Oversubscription of the free-for-all public wireless spectrum is nobody's fault (or everyone's fault, take your pick).

To use an analogy, if you buy a car that claims it can go 200Mph+ but can't get over 30MPh on a clear open road, then it's a fault with the car. However if you're stuck in traffic then it's public congestion and you have no right to complain to BMW, even though they sold you a car capable of going much faster.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 15:40   #25
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 182
Mythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the rough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Oversubscription on Virgin's own lines is Virgin's fault, but Oversubscription of the free-for-all public wireless spectrum is nobody's fault (or everyone's fault, take your pick).

To use an analogy, if you buy a car that claims it can go 200Mph+ but can't get over 30MPh on a clear open road, then it's a fault with the car. However if you're stuck in traffic then it's public congestion and you have no right to complain to BMW, even though they sold you a car capable of going much faster.
I've already said I've mentioned oversubscription.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 15:58   #26
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,332
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
I've already said I've mentioned oversubscription.
Yes, but the bit you don't seem to be accepting is that Wifi is, by and large, out of Virgin's control.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 18:08   #27
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 182
Mythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the rough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Yes, but the bit you don't seem to be accepting is that Wifi is, by and large, out of Virgin's control.
That doesn't mean they can't support it. If they offer their products with WiFi capabilities then they should support them to the best of their abilities.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 18:26   #28
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,188
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
That doesn't mean they can't support it. If they offer their products with WiFi capabilities then they should support them to the best of their abilities.
Which they do, they offer to change Wi-Fi channels
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 19:13   #29
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,332
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
That doesn't mean they can't support it. If they offer their products with WiFi capabilities then they should support them to the best of their abilities.
They do, if you phone up with wifi issues, they'll do their best to resolve it. The problem is there's genuinely not a lot they can do if the wireless is indeed the problem.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 21:43   #30
Mythica
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 182
Mythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the roughMythica is a jewel in the rough
Re: What broadband will I be able to get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
They do, if you phone up with wifi issues, they'll do their best to resolve it. The problem is there's genuinely not a lot they can do if the wireless is indeed the problem.
And that's what I said, not sure what the problem is here.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:34.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.