Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New DSLReports speedtester

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

New DSLReports speedtester
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-09-2015, 23:46   #61
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
That doesn't sound like it's going to produce reliable, consistent results then. NIC configuration can make a hell of a difference.
its not supposed to give you always a perfect result, then it wouldnt be much of a tester.

if a NIC configuration causes issues then I would expect a good tester to show those issues.

I see these sort of posts time and time again, the tbb tester gets complaints also as its apparently broken due to showing issues other testers dont (due to its single threaded tests).
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 16-09-2015, 02:25   #62
OhReally
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn View Post
Finally get a symmetric connection, shame the d/l is only 2% of what I am paying for...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 16-09-2015 01-20-17.jpg (74.0 KB, 9 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2015, 13:26   #63
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
Nice. Is that CPE connected over USB or are they actually handing out 10GBASE-T gear?
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2015, 13:37   #64
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

10Gb.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2015, 14:05   #65
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

I assume it's a SMB product and not a consumer service then?
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 18:08   #66
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
I assume it's a SMB product and not a consumer service then?
It's $300 a month. SME or loaded home user.

Be ideal for a house share full of nerds, though.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 19:06   #67
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,346
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post

Be ideal for a house share full of nerds, though.
Without a doubt. Especially for Offensive Security.
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 20:17   #68
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Even in a house full of nerds, I'd be surprised to find a 10GbE switched network. And my house is pretty high up there when it comes to the nerdiness of the nerds.

---------- Post added at 19:15 ---------- Previous post was at 19:13 ----------

That said, a GbE switch with 10Gb uplink wouldn't be quite as far-fetched, though you wouldn't be able to wave the e-peen with 2Gb+ speed tests without some bonding.

---------- Post added at 19:17 ---------- Previous post was at 19:15 ----------

$300 is pretty cheap though for 2Gb symmetric. You'd be hard pressed to even get a 300Mbps service (via BT FTTPoD) here for that much, heck you could find yourself paying $100+ for an 80Mb service.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 20:39   #69
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
That said, a GbE switch with 10Gb uplink wouldn't be quite as far-fetched, though you wouldn't be able to wave the e-peen with 2Gb+ speed tests without some bonding.
2.5Gb should be knocking around in numbers in the not too distant, both as an uplink for other GigE ports and no doubt as access ports with 10GbE uplink. Broadcom 1GbE/2.5GbE SoC. Marvell 1/2.5/5/10/40GbE
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 21:29   #70
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,334
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Why bother with 2.5G? We already have the technology for 10G over ethernet, why not just focus on bringing the price of that down?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 22:31   #71
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Same reason they bother with 40GbE while we already have the technology for 100GbE
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2015, 23:26   #72
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Why bother with 2.5G? We already have the technology for 10G over ethernet, why not just focus on bringing the price of that down?
I refer you to this presentation from Greg Hankins at Alcatel-Lucent delivered yesterday.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2015, 03:57   #73
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Why bother with 2.5G? We already have the technology for 10G over ethernet, why not just focus on bringing the price of that down?
Incremental upgrades are more profitable for the hardware companies. So the answer is capitalism.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2015, 09:24   #74
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
Incremental upgrades are more profitable for the hardware companies. So the answer is capitalism.
An 8 port gigabit switch is 20. An 8 port 10Gb switch is 600. A gigabit NIC from a recognised brand is 6. The cheapest, unknown brand 10Gb NIC I could find is 200. The answer is price versus performance making sense.

The sweet spot is about 3-4 times the price for 10 times the bandwidth. Right now 10GBase-T isn't even close at 30x.

As the presentation indicates there are genuine use cases in offices and, in time, homes, for 2.5Gb and 5Gb. The idea that it's because incremental upgrades are more profitable seems strange given it's not incremental, 10Gb has already been released, it's just too expensive for the applications that may use it.

EDIT: I glossed entirely over something else quite obvious, too. The vast majority of cabling is Cat 5. 10Gbase-T doesn't run so well on most Cat 5, so something that will allow upgraded bandwidth without requiring changing out of all cables in offices is very desirable.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2015, 10:16   #75
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,334
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignitionnet View Post
An 8 port gigabit switch is 20. An 8 port 10Gb switch is 600. A gigabit NIC from a recognised brand is 6. The cheapest, unknown brand 10Gb NIC I could find is 200. The answer is price versus performance making sense.

The sweet spot is about 3-4 times the price for 10 times the bandwidth. Right now 10GBase-T isn't even close at 30x.

As the presentation indicates there are genuine use cases in offices and, in time, homes, for 2.5Gb and 5Gb. The idea that it's because incremental upgrades are more profitable seems strange given it's not incremental, 10Gb has already been released, it's just too expensive for the applications that may use it.

EDIT: I glossed entirely over something else quite obvious, too. The vast majority of cabling is Cat 5. 10Gbase-T doesn't run so well on most Cat 5, so something that will allow upgraded bandwidth without requiring changing out of all cables in offices is very desirable.
That was a really interesting link and I read it all, but I'm still a little unconvinced. Their mean reasoning for 2.5G and 5G to exist is that wireless speeds have surpassed gigabit - and it's a worthy point. However, on the same slide they state this, they show that wireless speeds are going to go beyond 5Gbit in less than 2 years and faster still in 3 years.



It still seems like a bit of a pointless stop-gap between 10GbE? Then again, the cabling aspect is a worthy one and it's certainly better to be able to negotiate to 5Gbit if 10Gbit isn't possible on that particular cable. I suppose that's the real difference, having something inbetween for when your cabling isn't good enough. Still, it'd be nice if this just meant that devices started shipping with 10GbE capable ports that could just negotiate down, rather than trickling devices that do 2.5GbE and 5GbE.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:22.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.