Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New DSLReports speedtester

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

New DSLReports speedtester
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2015, 20:23   #31
Tonydtiger
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warwickshire
Services: XL TV, Tivo, 152Mb, Phone
Posts: 48
Tonydtiger is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New DSLReports speedtester



http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/1316591
Tonydtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-09-2015, 20:40   #32
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,334
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Are you missing 50mbit or are you a lucky early upgrader?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:29   #33
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester



Damn students coming back and hogging all mah bandwidths.

Surprised a flat 500/800 isn't "A+" for speed or quality. My e-peen has been well and truly flaccided by that.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 15:52   #34
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonydtiger View Post
Wow that is some serious downstream bufferbloat.

with router QoS - http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/1079282

without router QoS - http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/1289338
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 16:00   #35
roger skillin
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: cambs
Services: V+ XL,Broadband XXL, Phone with talk unlimited and extra TIVO box
Posts: 780
roger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quadsroger skillin has a fine set of Quads
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

159.2 down and 12.39 up on mine
Bufferbloat C
Quality A
Speed B
__________________
roger skillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 16:33   #36
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
Wow that is some serious downstream bufferbloat.

with router QoS - http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/1079282

without router QoS - http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/1289338
I suspect that's just a bugged result, the bufferbloat readings on that can be all over the place:



Not a bad speed though, considering I'm only paying for 250Mbps.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 16:44   #37
Tonydtiger
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warwickshire
Services: XL TV, Tivo, 152Mb, Phone
Posts: 48
Tonydtiger is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Not actually sure what bufferbloat is but here is a test from a minute ago



Another one a minute later

Tonydtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 20:18   #38
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
I suspect that's just a bugged result, the bufferbloat readings on that can be all over the place:



Not a bad speed though, considering I'm only paying for 250Mbps.
I think their test is reliable as I can get consistent results and manipulate them in certain ways, remember VM are known for buffer bloat.

Of course since it is a browser based test the local testing environment can also affect results such as the browser been under pressure for resources, or perhaps a cpu hitting a bottleneck.

Tony bufferbloat is basically a big buffer, the test is basically testing how your latency compares between idle and when downloading/uploading, things like pings get delayed waiting when is lots of buffers full of waiting packets.

Whilst qasi may have those speeds which are probably only useful for warez, I wouldnt be too happy with latency measuring in the seconds whilst uploading.

Also usually downstream has minimal effect on latency providing the downloading isnt too agressive. Thats why I mentioned the VM test as it unusually had very high latency during the test. Poor bufferbloat on a upload test is not unusual without any QoS.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 21:29   #39
sollp
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Age: 48
Services: Virginmobile,Sky TV, ZEN 76Mb,ZEN Phone line.
Posts: 1,262
sollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful one
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

1326066.png
__________________
"Once a Poacher, Always a Poacher"
sollp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 21:35   #40
Tonydtiger
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warwickshire
Services: XL TV, Tivo, 152Mb, Phone
Posts: 48
Tonydtiger is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
Tony bufferbloat is basically a big buffer, the test is basically testing how your latency compares between idle and when downloading/uploading, things like pings get delayed waiting when is lots of buffers full of waiting packets.
Thank you for the info. Would you say my line needed looking at with a F,D,F grade from the 3 tests?

Here is my TBB monitor if needed.

Tonydtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 22:58   #41
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,229
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Tested just now ;

__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 02:20   #42
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

tony your graph looks normal for someone on cable, there is jitter due to how cable works.

It would seem the very high latency on your test is either down to the the router you are using or VM having a large buffer their side. Whether or not is a problem depends if having higher latency during downloads bothers you or not, I would expect if you had a download going at those speeds such as a steam download and you were web browsing at the same time with a 2000ms latency the browsing would feel very slow.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 03:06   #43
Rexz
cf.member
 
Rexz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 29
Services: VM 152mbit + TV + Phone
Posts: 94
Rexz will become famous soon enoughRexz will become famous soon enoughRexz will become famous soon enough
Re: New DSLReports speedtester



Was actually really happy with mine. I am lucky to never have issues with oversubscribing in my area. I do use a firewall so was able to bring that bufferbloat down.


Rexz
Rexz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2015, 18:20   #44
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
I think their test is reliable as I can get consistent results and manipulate them in certain ways, remember VM are known for buffer bloat.
I get anywhere from A to F repeating the test several times on the same symmetric gigabit line. My transmit buffer is set to 20ms yet the the test simultaneously measures upload buffer to be 150ms +/-75ms (very inaccurate in itself) and 540ms +/- 250ms, aka all over the place. I wouldn't trust anything that thinks my latency is 75m and 750ms at the same time.

On another note VM may be known for bufferbloat but I have never seen downstream buffers of anywhere near 1800ms on VM. The highest I've seen is 150-600ms, and the latter only in extreme conditions.

The latency test also swings pretty wildly, probably just very inaccurate timing used in some browsers.
Quote:
Whilst qasi may have those speeds which are probably only useful for warez, I wouldnt be too happy with latency measuring in the seconds whilst uploading.

Also usually downstream has minimal effect on latency providing the downloading isnt too agressive. Thats why I mentioned the VM test as it unusually had very high latency during the test. Poor bufferbloat on a upload test is not unusual without any QoS.
His latency is 1.8 seconds while downloading and 0.2 seconds while uploading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
or VM having a large buffer their side.
Absolutely not.

---------- Post added at 17:20 ---------- Previous post was at 16:39 ----------

[Edit]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
I think their test is reliable as I can get consistent results
Yeah, definitely not what I would call consistent results.

IE ---

Test 1: FAIL - Upload too fast


Test 2: ERROR - Log too long



Test 3: FAIL - Upload too fast


Test 4:



Chrome ---

Test 1:



Test 2: ERROR - Your connection appears to be faster than 1 gig (with 830Mbps shown on the test status?!)


Test 3:


And yesterday:

I mean come on, 1020Mbps? Yeah, right...
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2015, 19:59   #45
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 38
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,834
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: New DSLReports speedtester

something up with your system qas, is consistent here.

Also its a test probably aimed at consumer's not university connections? why are you using your work connection?
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:14.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.