Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2017, 13:48   #31
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 484
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Interesting, I wonder when they'll be looking at a full on roll out.

Also did someone say it'd be a 50meg connection?
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 04-03-2017, 14:42   #32
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 15,929
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon View Post
Is the "Public WiFi" Traffic tunneled off somewhere or at least on a different Vlan/External IP interface than the private network traffic?

I'm not wanting to deal with the crap that would follow if someone on the "Public" side decided to access something they shouldn't.
They are completely separate.

---------- Post added at 14:42 ---------- Previous post was at 14:40 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Interesting, I wonder when they'll be looking at a full on roll out.

Also did someone say it'd be a 50meg connection?
It's 20Mbps allocated per Hub I believe, but then the network is on a single SSID and shared between anyone using it, so what speed you'll get will be dependent on lots of factors.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 16:25   #33
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,311
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Interesting, I wonder when they'll be looking at a full on roll out.

Also did someone say it'd be a 50meg connection?
We should be hearing something soon. Due to bugs in their various pilot areas VM have delayed an announcement until early 2017.

http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php...ring-2017.html
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-N66U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 16:26   #34
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 484
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

20meg is still more than BJ's offering and they can easily boost it in the future if they wanted
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 16:59   #35
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; XL Phone; Devolo 200AV
Posts: 5,183
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon View Post
Is the "Public WiFi" Traffic tunneled off somewhere or at least on a different Vlan/External IP interface than the private network traffic?

I'm not wanting to deal with the crap that would follow if someone on the "Public" side decided to access something they shouldn't.
If you look at the Operational Configuration stats in the Hub, you'll see the Service Flow listed. That is your service flow. Hidden from you, is the service flow attributable to public WiFi. I think it's capped to 20/2 - maybe BenMcr can comment on that.

As to the shared 2.4GHz wireless frequency, there is only one radio in the el-chepo hub so it has to use the same frequency as in your house. Unless someone is standing right outside your house downloading like hell, (if they can even see a signal) they will contend with anything you're doing on the 2.4GHz band. I
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 17:04   #36
Inactive Digital
Coming soon
 
Inactive Digital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband
Posts: 79
Inactive Digital has a spectacular aura about themInactive Digital has a spectacular aura about themInactive Digital has a spectacular aura about themInactive Digital has a spectacular aura about them
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Looks as though they have ditched plans to roll this out on the SH2 then? I guess they never fixed the software bug that crippled mine for weeks!
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2017, 14:38   #37
amarkr
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
amarkr is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by amarkr View Post
https://my.virginmedia.com/my-app/wh...wifi.html#FAQs

Something amazing is starting

We want you to connect to Virgin Media WiFi in as many areas of the UK as possible, so we’re expanding our service by adding Virgin Media Hubs to the network.

We’re adding hundreds of thousands of Hubs 3.0s to our growing network, helping you connect to WiFi in even more places. There are more Hub 3.0s to come, and we’re continuing with a pilot of the Super Hub 2ac. We’re planning to complete the rollout of our service later this year.

Find out more, including which areas are covered and how to opt out.

Where have Hubs been added to the Virgin Media network so far?

So far we’ve added Hub 3.0s to the network in
Basildon, Southend, Gillingham, Cambridge, the Cotswolds, Epping,
Loughton, Glenrothes, South Herts and Watford, and West Sussex. Areas where Hubs are part of the network are indicated by pink circles on the map in the Virgin Media WiFi app.
Mention of the 2ac trial has been removed
amarkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 12:56   #38
NoCableForMe
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
NoCableForMe is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Why don't they make the street cabinets Wi-Fi hotspots?
NoCableForMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 13:13   #39
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,207
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoCableForMe View Post
Why don't they make the street cabinets Wi-Fi hotspots?
That would require an external aerial outside the shielded steel cabinet. I think that would require Planning Permission.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2017, 13:38   #40
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 971
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
That would require an external aerial outside the shielded steel cabinet. I think that would require Planning Permission.
Also a power supply!
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 13:02   #41
amarkr
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
amarkr is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Its an interesting idea - I remember BT mounted them within telephone boxes in some cities to provide street access
Not sure how they fared with the planning status, cabinets only have permitted development if providing fixed line broadband so it may well be a stumbling block to a retrofitting exercise.
amarkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 15:24   #42
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,127
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

Plus why go to the trouble adding one big wireless AP's to your cabs, when you can have lots of little wireless AP's dotted all around it?

Better coverage, more capacity and it doesn't cost additional hardware.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 16:54   #43
roseandjim
cf.member
 
roseandjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31
roseandjim is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

VM are promising all this Wi-Fi sharing I am keen to do it and have signed up but as I have only have a SH2 won't be able to do it and they want £14.99 to supply one whereas my neighbour broke her SH2 and they send her a SH3 with no charge.
roseandjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 17:01   #44
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 15,929
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

If you don't have a Hub 3.0, then you still get to use the Virgin Media WiFi app and network. It's just that your own Hub won't be part of the Virgin Media WiFi network.

But then you won't connect to the Virgin Media WiFi network via your own Hub anyway - as you'll be using the private WiFi network for your own broadband connection.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2017, 20:46   #45
Mr K
cf.mega poster
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: 150MB BB, TiVo & VHD XL TV, Talk Unlimited
Posts: 1,728
Mr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of societyMr K is a pillar of society
Re: VM Hubs as WiFi hot spots

So anyone in 'modem mode' in these selected areas, and not opted out of sharing in 'My VM'. If so, do you still have access to blag other folks wifi ?
__________________
Remember, 'we're all in this together', however some are more equal than others...
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:12.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.