Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Planned Outage - Hitron Business service
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-03-2017, 20:22   #1
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 666
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

I see that VM Business have a planned outage tomorrow (Tues 21st).

Details here

Given the description of the outage I suspect this could be a firmware update as they request the routers are left on overnight.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 24-03-2017, 21:32   #2
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 666
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

Did anyone see an outage or firmware update in this time? I was using the service across the period that VMB said would experience an outage, but nothing happened.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2017, 15:08   #3
vsn
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
vsn is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

The last two times they said this, there was no outage and no update.
vsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2017, 16:32   #4
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 666
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

That has been my experience too. Getting info from VMB is a challenge - any of the VM people here is there anyway to find out what was supposed to happen, and what actually did happen?

As vsn says my experience id the same - we were told there will be an outage and updates, but no outage was experienced.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 15:11   #5
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,271
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

I'm willing to bet they performed updates and gave you the notice just in case there was an outage. I've used other business ISP's that did exactly the same thing with no obvious issues caused.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 17:30   #6
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 666
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

Yes that's quiet possible - however the outage notification stated the Hitron would reboot, possibly more than once. While there could be more reasons for this, one likely one was a firmware upgrade.

Why this is relevant is that they have been promising a fix for upload failing to reach target.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 22:06   #7
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 666
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: Planned Outage - Hitron Business service

Well there was a Hitron firmware update over night for me... I am now on 4.5.10.161-SIP-UPC

All I have noticed is all reference to WiFi is removed from the management interface. Not sure if that's a bug or they have disabled and removed Wifi capability from the device.
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57.


Server: radium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.