Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | How to change your ip address

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Cable Forum Website > Articles & Information > Internet Information > Broadband & Dial-up Information

How to change your ip address
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-10-2006, 14:23   #1
Chris W
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Reading
Age: 33
Services: Virgin Media Broadband Size M
Posts: 6,847
Chris W has a nice shiny star
Chris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny starChris W has a nice shiny star
Send a message via MSN to Chris W
How to change your ip address

Why Change IP address?

Contrary to popular belief, your ip address is not normally the cause of slow browsing, receiving lots of spam, or many other connectivity problems. Reasons for changing an ip address include: being banned from a forum/ irc channel etc, or someone attacking an individual address (usually after peeing off a script kiddy in IRC).


How to Change the address

The ip address assigned to your PC is linked to the mac address of the device that is connected. A USB connection will always have a mac address one digit higher than the mac address of the cable modem, whereas an ethernet connection uses a NIC which has it's own mac address. An ip addreess can be forced to change by changing the mac address of a device in one of the following ways:
  • switch from usb to ethernet or vice versa
  • change network cards
  • change the mac address of the NIC

Changing a NIC's mac address

Windows
Go into device manager and then the properties of the network card. In the "advanced" section there is an option to change the network address/ physical address/ mac address. Check the current mac address using ipconfig /all from a command prompt and then increase the mac address by one digit. Reboot everything and you should have a new ip.

Apple Mac
NB- this procedure will only work on a mac with terminal- ie os 10.1 or higher

Open a terminal window and type:

sudo ifconfig en0 ether 00:00:00:00:00:00

where en0 is the interface you are using, and the zeros are the mac address that you want to use.

Linux
When logged in as root type:

/etc/init.d/networking stop
ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:00
/etc/init.d/networking start

Notes

Leaving the connection off for a period of time does not guarantee the same ip address, because even if the lease has expired, if the ip address has not been assigned to someone else you will get the same ip back again. Also reinstalling the ntl software will not give a different ip unless you use a different device to connect.

Originally written by Chris W
Chris W is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-07-2007, 17:42   #2
eth01
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 852
eth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to all
Re: How to change your ip address

An easier way of your changing your IP is todo the following;
For Windows Users Only!

1. Connect directly to your cable modem, DO NOT connect through a router, etc.

2. Load Command Prompt (Start, Run, Type 'cmd' and press Enter/OK). Black window appears.

3. Enter 'ipconfig /release'.

4. Disconnect the power supply from your cable modem, for 1 minute. (Whilst your cable modem is effectively powerless, enter 'ipconfig /renew' in the Command Prompt window, WAIT! DO NOT press Enter/OK)

5. Connect the power supply back into your cable modem, and then press Enter/OK on the above command (which was 'ipconfig /renew'), continuously repeat the same command using the UP button on your keypad (saves you manually typing it in).

6. It should hopefully provide you with a new IP. This has always worked for me.

The reason you enter 'ipconfig /renew' at step 4 is so that you don't waste time at step 5 -- If you waste time, there's every possibility that it won't work.

Hope that helps!

eth01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2007, 21:37   #3
chocoholics
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
chocoholics is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How to change your ip address

A couple additional comments:

1] If you ARE using a router, you can change your ip address by going into your router's control panel, changing your mac address (keep things simple by increasing the last number by 1), and then disconnecting/reconnecting.

2] Or for those who need to do this often, simplify the whole process by using a software to change your ip address like iprivacytools.

Hope that helps!
chocoholics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2008, 22:35   #4
eth01
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 852
eth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to alleth01 is a name known to all
Re: How to change your ip address

Quote:
Originally Posted by eth01 View Post
An easier way of your changing your IP is todo the following;
For Windows Users Only!

1. Connect directly to your cable modem, DO NOT connect through a router, etc.

2. Load Command Prompt (Start, Run, Type 'cmd' and press Enter/OK). Black window appears.

3. Enter 'ipconfig /release'.

4. Disconnect the power supply from your cable modem, for 1 minute. (Whilst your cable modem is effectively powerless, enter 'ipconfig /renew' in the Command Prompt window, WAIT! DO NOT press Enter/OK)

5. Connect the power supply back into your cable modem, and then press Enter/OK on the above command (which was 'ipconfig /renew'), continuously repeat the same command using the UP button on your keypad (saves you manually typing it in).

6. It should hopefully provide you with a new IP. This has always worked for me.

The reason you enter 'ipconfig /renew' at step 4 is so that you don't waste time at step 5 -- If you waste time, there's every possibility that it won't work.

Hope that helps!

Updated -- 31.07.08

This tutorial is designed for those using a cable modem.

1. Connect directly to the cable modem, you must not connect through a router -- you can connect through a switch, but it's not recommended (reason behind this is that ntl:telewestbusiness customers can have more than one CPE assigned to their modem, and if you have multiple computers or whatever connected to the switch -- it won't work.)

2. So you've connected directly to the modem -- i don't care how, just make sure there is no router involved.

3. Command Prompt ... Run 'ipconfig /release' and remove the power supply from your cable modem -- leave it unplugged for about 2 minutes.

4. This is the tricky bit and where you have to act fast. Whilst you're plugging the power supply back into the cable modem, you need to run 'ipconfig /release' (the opposite to /renew) ... KEEP doing it and KEEP doing it -- even if it says that the IP address is something like 192.168.100.1 -- NO, this is not your router assigning IP's, you haven't connected through it remember? ... this is just the IP local to the cable modem itself.

5. The above (4) doesn't too long, just be patient for a few whilst it connects.

6. Should have a new IP
eth01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2008, 00:30   #5
ShArPBrAiN
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
ShArPBrAiN is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How to change your ip address

another way of changing IP:

How To: Change Your Ip In Less Then 1 Minute

1. Click on "Start" in the bottom left hand corner of screen
2. Click on "Run"
3. Type in "command" and hit ok

You should now be at an MSDOS prompt screen.

4. Type "ipconfig /release" just like that, and hit "enter"
5. Type "exit" and leave the prompt
6. Right-click on "Network Places" or "My Network Places" on your desktop.
7. Click on "properties"

You should now be on a screen with something titled "Local Area Connection", or something close to that, and, if you have a network hooked up, all of your other networks.

8. Right click on "Local Area Connection" and click "properties"
9. Double-click on the "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" from the list under the "General" tab
10. Click on "Use the following IP address" under the "General" tab
11. Create an IP address (It doesn't matter what it is. I just type 1 and 2 until i fill the area up).
12. Press "Tab" and it should automatically fill in the "Subnet Mask" section with default numbers.
13. Hit the "Ok" button here
14. Hit the "Ok" button again

You should now be back to the "Local Area Connection" screen.

15. Right-click back on "Local Area Connection" and go to properties again.
16. Go back to the "TCP/IP" settings
17. This time, select "Obtain an IP address automatically"
tongue.gif 18. Hit "Ok"
19. Hit "Ok" again
20. You now have a new IP address
ShArPBrAiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 13:12   #6
dekd
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
dekd is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How to change your ip address

eth01 This works a treat for me but as soon as i go back behind my router, it picks up the old ip address? Am I missing something obvious? Thanks in advance
dekd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 19:05   #7
MovedGoalPosts
Moving the Goal Posts
 
MovedGoalPosts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 53
Posts: 16,408
MovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny stars
MovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny starsMovedGoalPosts has a pair of shiny stars
Re: How to change your ip address

IP addresses are typically allocated by network servers for a period of time. That can be hours or days. This is often referred to as a lease. Typically servers record details of the device which it communicates with using a mac code. This is an identifier built into the network ports of most network type devices including routers, computer network cards, modems and such like.

If the device remains connected to the network, the lease will be renewed with the same IP. Even if a device is disconnected from a network, if you reconnect before the lease has expired, it will pick up the same IP.
MovedGoalPosts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2010, 09:37   #8
KevAmiga
Inactive
 
KevAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Swansea, South Wales
Age: 35
Services: TiVo, V+, SH2. Phone, Mobile.
Posts: 313
KevAmiga is just really niceKevAmiga is just really niceKevAmiga is just really niceKevAmiga is just really niceKevAmiga is just really niceKevAmiga is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to KevAmiga Send a message via Yahoo to KevAmiga
Re: How to change your ip address

Just wanted to add.. if you change your MAC address to something other than the adaptors specific MAC and happen to hit the same MAC as another user in your locale... expect a 169 IP
KevAmiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 21:53   #9
Nicosia
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 357
Nicosia is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How to change your ip address

Does this work on Virgin Media? and

change network cards ? how do i do that on my mac?
Nicosia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:38.


Server: calcium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.