Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Secure energy monitors

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Security & Virus Discussion

Secure energy monitors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-03-2017, 13:18   #1
stumps
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Yokshire
Posts: 6
stumps is an unknown quantity at this point
Secure energy monitors

I like the idea of getting my house a bit smart-er, and controlling the heating, appliances, etc. with one of the smart kits. I know that there has been many security issues with the internet of things, but I can't seem to find out which of these kits is the most robust. I like the look of the Smappee energy monitor system, but to be honest I just want to stick with the most secure solution. Anyone got any experience?

(I'll probably end up being given a lecture on how giving access to your home network is inherently insecure )
stumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-03-2017, 13:53   #2
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 60
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 13,462
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Secure energy monitors

Make sure your main firewall resides in your router. (You do have your own one?)

As far as hackable devices go anything running any form of RTOS* ( Such as Andriod or Linux) is likely to be vulnerable.

Simple devices often use proprietary firmware and as such there is no OS to hack in the first place.

Interestingly I'm currently working on an energy monitor (3 phase with true RMS voltage and current measurements, VAs, Watts and VARs) for a client and there is no OS as such. I don't think there's any chance of getting into it from outside but there again it only uses Modbus and Modbus TCP/IP so although it CAN have an Ethernet connection the Modbus protocol precludes hacking.

*Real Time Operating System.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada

Last edited by heero_yuy; 14-03-2017 at 13:53. Reason: Typo
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.