Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Virgin Media Installation Issues (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Complete Newbie! What does install involve? (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33675935)

Pr3sario 17-03-2011 16:04

Complete Newbie! What does install involve?

Hi guys,

I suppose this is sort of a duplicate post so I will delete my other one as I think its more appropriate here...

As a complete newbie to cable - I don't have a clue how it works. I am having Virgins 30MB Broadband installed and I wondered what I should expect - and how the install will look from the outside of the flat?

I read about construction etc on here - will they have to dig up the street I live in just to get cable to me? Or is it likely there will be a duct close to the flat that they will run the wire from?

Does it cause a nuisance to neighbours having this done? I am new to the area and I don't want to get a reputation for thinking about myself over others - not yet anyway ;)

Can someone tell me how they deliver the service from cabinet to house in layman’s terms please?

Thanks in advance.

weesteev 17-03-2011 16:55

Re: Complete Newbie! What does install involve?

Impossible to say Presario (construction issue). If your building has existing wiring then it shouldnt be an issue, there's a chance your flat is internally wired but if not then the cable will be run externally.

If your area is mostly MDU's and there are existing customers then I dont think anyone will consider it a nuisance as it would be a common occurance to have Virgin installers around the street.