Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Internet Discussion (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Password managers. (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33705223)

RichardCoulter 03-08-2017 17:06

Password managers.

After watching something about internet security, they advised upon getting a password manager.

How safe are these?

Is there any evidence of unscrupulous people using these in order to obtain passwords?

Can anyone recommend a good one?

What if the password manager itself gets hacked?

Thanks.

Paul 03-08-2017 19:13

Re: Password managers.

I have been testing "Lastpass" for a couple of months, it seems to work ok.

pip08456 03-08-2017 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul M (Post 35910644)
I have been testing "Lastpass" for a couple of months, it seems to work ok.

I've been using LastPass for a few years now. They got hacked a couple of years ago but due the the encription no-ones passwords were comprimised.

All in all very happy with it.

Onramp 03-08-2017 19:51

I would never trust any password manager.

RichardCoulter 03-08-2017 20:27

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Why wouldn't you trust them Infamous, have you had a bad experience with one?

progers 03-08-2017 22:01

A lot of password managers store your details on a web server, although they might be encrypted, passwords can still be broken using brute force dictionary methods.

I use Steganos Password Manager which saves the files to your PC which, IMHO, makes it inherently safer

Onramp 04-08-2017 01:03

Something feels wrong about providing someone else with your passwords. It is a centralized, externally-managed, more-humans-involved-than-just-you point of failure, which if not accidentally mishandled, could otherwise be deliberately misused.

SnoopZ 04-08-2017 02:15

Last Pass is awesome, i use it on a PC.

RichardCoulter 04-08-2017 14:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichardCoulter (Post 35910669)