PDA

View Full Version : Installation Horrors

oldmotherbrown
12-03-2004, 14:59
Hi, I'm an ancient newbie!!

We signed up for the tv package, installation last Monday. The three NTL boys (only just out of puberty) installed the cabling in the rooms but couldn't complete the job because a car was parked over a drain to which they needed access.

I've left a note on the car but no-one has responded. The council don't want to know and NTL are due to come back on Tuesday.

Any suggestions on how I can get the car moved (or how easy is it to pick up and push a Fiat Punto about 1 Metre?!).

I know NTL installation is not a life or death situation, but it's still annoying:mad: ; I was unaware they used drains to install cables!

Many thanks,

Mo

Ramrod
12-03-2004, 15:41
Get your mates to come round and lift it. Punto's aren't big, you should be able to do it

SMHarman
12-03-2004, 15:44
I doubt it is a drain, but an inspection point for their cable network. If you look at these hatches on the ground some are marked BT (GPO), others CableTel or Videotron, or CATV and others Water.

They need to get to it to get the cable installed around your house hooked into the network. You and a couple of mates can probably either push the car or pick it up and drag it, or hook a tow rope to the eye and pull it fairly easily.

Is the car tax valid. Does it have a local post office stamp on the tax? Have you asked the police if its stolen?

Oh and :welcome: to your first post. Happy lurking and posting.

12-03-2004, 15:44
Hi, I'm an ancient newbie!!

We signed up for the tv package, installation last Monday. The three NTL boys (only just out of puberty) installed the cabling in the rooms but couldn't complete the job because a car was parked over a drain to which they needed access.

I've left a note on the car but no-one has responded. The council don't want to know and NTL are due to come back on Tuesday.