PDA

View Full Version : 2 out of 3 laps tops can't connect to telewest broadband

lizas
28-09-2006, 11:39
:mad:

Please can someone help? I am tearing my hair out over this. I work in IT (although software and not networking thank god) and find all this incredibly frustrating!

I got the telewest set top box and modem two days ago.
The Cable TV is working fine and also when I plug the ethernet cable in from the modem (provided by telewest) in to one of my lap tops - the internet works no problem.

However - when I do the same to both my other laptops (one IBM and one Siemens) both don't work and have the icon on the network connection that it is limited and it appears both can't assign IP address. (atlhough both are set to assign IP automatically). It also says something like it can't find the DHCP server. All settings seem to be the same on all three laptops and I have no reason to believe this is an issue with my laptops as I have never had a problem attaching to LANS or wireless networks.

Does anyone have any idea??? Telewest have said that as 1 laptop works then it can't be their problem - but how can two completely different laptops have the same error? It isn't a coincidence - it must be something to do with them surely.

All three lap tops have the same Mc Afee antivirus software and all three have the MS XP firewall on (atlhough I have tried turning it off). All three are XP.

Please help - I am desperate!

lizas

Graham M
28-09-2006, 11:43
You need to reboot the Cable Modem in between conneftions

Oh and :welcome:

HTH

Chris
28-09-2006, 11:52
Beaten to it by Zeph ...

The Cable Modem records the MAC address of the ethernet card in your laptop. Once it has established the MAC address it is communicating with, it won't talk to a different one. Rebooting the modem helps it to forget. ;)