PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know any organisations which says Degrees are a waste?

heyyo
16-08-2006, 12:22
i am looking to speak to someone either an organisation/life coach who say university degrees are a waste of time?

if u can help
it would be appreciated

thanx

Aragorn
16-08-2006, 12:37
Why? Is as research for a thesis or as an argument for not going to Uni? Personally, I have used little (if any) of the 'fact' gained at Uni, but it did give me a good stepping stone to my career and opened more doors than would have been the case as an 18 yo A-level student. Admittedly, that was 20 years ago!

Ramrod
16-08-2006, 12:40
I couldn't do my job without my degree. It would be illegal and almost impossible.

Stuart
16-08-2006, 12:55
Why? Is as research for a thesis or as an argument for not going to Uni? Personally, I have used little (if any) of the 'fact' gained at Uni,

Same here. In fact, most of the stuff I learned in my degree is massively out of date.

Still, as I was told years ago, a degree, even if you don't use it, is proof you can learn.

danielf
16-08-2006, 13:03
i am looking to speak to someone either an organisation/life coach who say university degrees are a waste of time?

if u can help
it would be appreciated

thanx

You could try the Association of Accounting Technicians:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/4796287.stm

pop80_uk
16-08-2006, 16:23
hmmm......try every business in the UK!
Degrees are not rated at all now, infact they are a dis-advantage I found. I applied for over 75 jobs when I left uni and got interviews for 4. I am now working on a low wage, working my way up the company and doing a few professional qualifications.

Im bitter though :p:

Tribuna DelCavo
16-08-2006, 16:56
hmmm......try every business in the UK!