PDA

View Full Version : save energy

gedr
01-03-2006, 10:29
Watching a programme on tv about energy conservation and was told that
any equipment, tv's ect. when on standby would use just as much energy as
when running, I'm no expert, but that's not what I've always understood.

Have I missed something? :confused:

gedr.

bopdude
01-03-2006, 11:13
Watching a programme on tv about energy conservation and was told that
any equipment, tv's ect. when on standby would use just as much energy as
when running, I'm no expert, but that's not what I've always understood.

Have I missed something? :confused:

gedr.
Hi there, the simple answer is, yes, they do use power, but not as much, here (http://www.pmb.co.nz/power_usage.htm) is a rough guide to various appliances.

HTH

gedr
01-03-2006, 11:32
Thanks, bopdude,
I think the idea is to get people to switch rather than go into standby, thus
saving as much energy as possible.

cheers, gedr.

bopdude
01-03-2006, 11:43
Thanks, bopdude,
I think the idea is to get people to switch rather than go into standby, thus
saving as much energy as possible.

cheers, gedr.
Yeah, I'm a sucker for it, I know I'm using / wasting energy but it's way to easy to reach for the remote at the end of a night, I mean, walk 5 paces to the t.v. are you mad :dozey: :p:

Halcyon
01-03-2006, 11:53
Good post this.
I was actually thinking the same thing the other day.
I use two Pc's and all my music equipment is always on as it needs to be on to work at it's best.....and also things like amplifiers too.
If only electricity was free.

[Goes to google solar panels]

Chris
01-03-2006, 12:28
Our TV, VCR, stereo and Sky box are all left on overnight. We used to switch the telly off by the button on the front of it but our son took to playing with it, so we had to get a childproof clear perspex cover to stop him.