PDA

View Full Version : journalism help....filling in form.

heyyo
04-02-2006, 17:25
have to fill in a application for a broadcast journalism job (radio based) i have limited experience and would basically need to discuss things in my application that are relevant and show that i understand journalism and the importance.

i am not a great writer as i am still learning, but i cant afford to miss this opportunity...

i am currently filling out the form, i would appreciate it someone on the forum could look over it, will be about a page of A4 and correct any mistakes and advise what i should perhaps remove/mention....???

the application asks

Awareness of News and Current Affairs, and proven ability to treat news stories in a way which appeals to the stationââ‚à ‚¬Ã¢â€žÂ¢s under-35 British audience.

Proven ability to work collaboratively as part of a small team, under the pressures of live broadcasting and to deal effectively with contributors and members of the public.

Proven knowledge and understanding of radio production techniques including tape/digital editing and studio production skills.

An understanding of the BBC Producer Guidelines and awareness of legal considerations applying to all types of output.

Ability to write, and edit the writing of colleagues, in a concise, conversational, accurate style.

Awareness of the wider radio marketplace, other BBC services.
Ability to manage relationships across the BBC and with Talent and Contributors.

You must be able to demonstrate the following:

Sound editorial judgement.

A deep understanding of the under-35 British target audience.

A minimum of 2 yearsââ‚ƚ¬Ã¢â€žÂ¢ practical experience in broadcast or music production.

Experience of the demands of †˜liveâÃà ‚¢Ã¢â‚¬Å¡Ã‚¬Ã¢â€ž ¢ magazine programmes and the ability to contribute good topical ideas which will appeal to our target audience.

The ability to prioritise your own work