PDA

View Full Version : Swapping MAC addresse with NTL - question

Piotr
24-01-2006, 14:43
Hi all

I’m new with this forum but I would like to ask a question:

My friend gave me almost new NTL modem (ntl250) and I would like to swap it with my old one (120) but I’m not sure if it’s doable?
Is there any possibility to swap MAC numbers between two NTL modems?

Sorry for my English but I’m still learning.

Thanks

Aragorn
24-01-2006, 14:57
Piotr, :welcome: to CF

1. NTL CM's belong to NTL and are not free for your friend to give away.
2. Even if it were possible to convince the network that it is a valid registered CM, it would be illegal - so we can't condone that.

Sorry.

Piotr
24-01-2006, 15:30
Aragorn ->> Thanks anyway

I was thinking same way but i wasn't sure.

Thanks again

rebel
24-01-2006, 17:12
Piotr, :welcome: to CF

1. NTL CM's belong to NTL and are not free for your friend to give away.
2. Even if it were possible to convince the network that it is a valid registered CM, it would be illegal - so we can't condone that.

Sorry.

HI all I'm also new to this forum..
What if you bought a new cable modem, a motorola or somthing like this, would it work with NTL's cable. I have a home 120 and have been experiencing probs for the last week, so was thinking of swapping it out for a new CM?

Wod
24-01-2006, 17:26
Yes it should do.

Piotr
24-01-2006, 17:28
What if you bought a new cable modem, a motorola or somthing like this, would it work with NTL's cable. I have a home 120 and have been experiencing probs for the last week, so was thinking of swapping it out for a new CM?

What I think that is other thing because with modem different than NTL You can clona MAC addresse from Your 120.

ian@huth
24-01-2006, 17:33