PDA

View Full Version : Broadband Plus/MTV

Markly Darkly
13-01-2006, 12:45
Is this the right forum for Bradband Plus???

Anyway, I realise Braodband Plus can be a bit temperamental as I am new to it (now it is free since my move to 2Mb) I thought I 'd have a look at MTV

But...when I click on it and Windows Media player starts up I get an error message saying it either hasn't got access to a file or my connection settings may be wrong. I am not on a proxy - presumably this means the media player settings?

Any ideas

Thanks

Phil Capron
13-01-2006, 18:05
Hi!
I have exactly the same symptoms as yourself.Everything on BB plus works except the MTVlive stream.I would guess that WMP is giving you an error code of c00d11d2?I've phoned Ntl 3 times and may just have succeeded in getting them to check the site and investigate the problem because I believe the problem is at their end.I also e-mailed MTV but they say the stream's OK and referrred me back to Ntl.Ntl did say initially and they may be right,that it's not their problem call MTV.Sound familiar?
I have spent a lot of time ensuring that WMP is not at fault,installing codecs ,trying other players and generally wasting a lot of time.The problem may have only just happened (2/3 days).I'm glad there's somebody else out there with the same issue because it needs to be flagged up on the bb status site if it is faulty.HTH.

KevAmiga
13-01-2006, 18:10
What version of windows media player are you using?

Phil Capron
13-01-2006, 18:39
Using WMP10.Tried 9 and Classic.Tried Real Player.That's about it so far.HTH.

KevAmiga
13-01-2006, 18:41
Are you able to stream other content (not BB+) ?

Phil Capron
13-01-2006, 18:50
Yes and with regards BB+ every site/stream works except the MTV live.I'm guessing here but it looks to me as though the first part of the file (.asx?) is received and then "Cannot access file etc."HTH.

---------- Post added at 18:50 ---------- Previous post was at 18:48 ----------