PDA

View Full Version : total newbie.. How to get started with PS2?

chrisjones
21-12-2005, 18:02
Hi.
Ok so I got me a PS2 slimline, 2mb ethernet NTL connection.. do I need anything else to get my PS2 online?? Sorry for the simple question, this is new to me.

daz300
21-12-2005, 19:00
hi chris
i thnk you can just plug in a ethernet cable rj45 in to the back of you ps2 then the other end in to your ntl connection and the ps2 will work it all out , i thnk

all so i know a chris jones !! my best mate as it happens .

chrisjones
22-12-2005, 09:11
SO your saying I plug my PS2 directly into my NTL modem?

Stephen
22-12-2005, 09:44
Unless you already have a PC plugged in then you will need to get a router as well.

chrisjones
22-12-2005, 12:08
so providing I dont have the PC plugged into the modem all I have to do is run the PS2 direct to the Modem? Do I need to have any loggin details (pin etc..) to hand ready for the PS2?

Neil
22-12-2005, 13:22
so providing I dont have the PC plugged into the modem all I have to do is run the PS2 direct to the Modem? Do I need to have any loggin details (pin etc..) to hand ready for the PS2?

You will need to power off the modem & reboot it before you power the PS2 on.

[Edit] - http://uk.playstation.com/networkgaming/support.jhtml

chrisjones
22-12-2005, 15:00
Thanks.. before I get all trigger happy, are there any known side effects from switching the modem between a PS2 and Laptop. Reason I ask is I REALLY depend on the connection being stable to my laptop when I use it.
Cheers!

Neil
22-12-2005, 15:59
Thanks.. before I get all trigger happy, are there any known side effects from switching the modem between a PS2 and Laptop. Reason I ask is I REALLY depend on the connection being stable to my laptop when I use it.
Cheers!

No issues. :)

chrisjones
22-12-2005, 18:00
Cheers, bring it on! lol

hoggyspuds
28-12-2005, 22:09
Cheers, bring it on! lol