PDA

View Full Version : New install - what will I get ?

simondavo
02-11-2005, 13:33
I am a relative novice but I have been monitoring this forum for a couple of weeks.

I am already a broadband customer and will be having tv/telephone installed in Luton on Saturday afternoon.

I am concerned at the reliability of the boxes i.e. Pace. What should I expect to have installed ? It appears that the Samaung is the box to have.

Are there any other things that I need to ask for or look out for when the install is in progress ?

Cheers.

Chris W
02-11-2005, 13:36
depends what type of box the installer has on the van... could be either a PACE or Samsung.... Lucky dip in most places.

Chris
02-11-2005, 13:39
I am a relative novice but I have been monitoring this forum for a couple of weeks.

I am already a broadband customer and will be having tv/telephone installed in Luton on Saturday afternoon.

I am concerned at the reliability of the boxes i.e. Pace. What should I expect to have installed ? It appears that the Samaung is the box to have.

Are there any other things that I need to ask for or look out for when the install is in progress ?

Cheers.

Make sure you know in advance where you want the cable point to be on the wall, and if there is likely to be any difficulty running the cable, do your best to clear it out the way before the install tech arrives. They can be funny, for example, about installing in a room in a terrace which is on the far side of the house from where the cable comes in from the street.

As for the STB ... hope for a Samsung, although I hear they are still getting rid of a few Paces.

simondavo
02-11-2005, 13:45
We are having an additional box installed at the back of the house. Will the installers go over the roof to get the cable there ?

Cheers.

Chris
02-11-2005, 13:45
We are having an additional box installed at the back of the house. Will the installers go over the roof to get the cable there ?

Cheers.